collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 56
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 1
  • Dot Users Online:

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • CHRIS-7: Hi - SMF V2.0.10 is Relased ! ;D
    April 25, 2015, 12:57:14 am
  • Advaita: hi
    April 23, 2015, 06:49:20 pm
  • player.samp: If you need help, create a topic in the support board: [link] :)
    April 21, 2015, 04:41:00 pm
  • sezing: i need help
    April 14, 2015, 03:41:27 pm
  • sezing: as
    April 14, 2015, 03:41:22 pm
  • CaLy: yup thanks ninja, i will check right now! thanks
    March 23, 2015, 07:12:16 pm
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: Lol 420connect, everybody needs help anyway ;) People achieve more as a team! @CaLy, old version I think. Check your topic.
    March 23, 2015, 06:56:02 pm
  • CaLy: why i dont have SPortal2.php ?
    March 23, 2015, 12:25:51 pm
  • 420connect: .. too many ideas - not enough knowledge!
    March 23, 2015, 11:46:00 am
  • 420connect: I feel like I am the only person who needs help with SP :P
    March 23, 2015, 11:45:42 am
  • cachencho29: hola gente e creado una web llamada liberatuandroid.com si hay algun interesado en hacer sus aporte
    March 23, 2015, 07:59:38 am
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: Just once more, I'd like to say Thank you to all involved for SP. Cheers.
    March 16, 2015, 11:45:52 am
  • Chen Zhen: newbies that post links are restricted until moderated due to spam control
    March 02, 2015, 08:44:47 pm
  • brianwilcox: I would make a support thread for it... but I can't.
    February 28, 2015, 07:34:25 pm
  • brianwilcox: Why can I not post on the forums? ;/
    February 28, 2015, 07:34:10 pm
  • CaLy: thanks and have a nice weekend all!
    February 21, 2015, 07:11:36 am
  • CaLy: ah u are right eliana, i will do that with custom block :)
    February 21, 2015, 07:11:28 am
  • Eliana Tamerin: You mean a custom block with HTML code? It's built into SP.
    February 20, 2015, 03:20:12 am
  • CaLy: what package are u using to display adsense banner at right of user info (in the middle) ? Thanks in advance!
    February 18, 2015, 07:34:47 am
  • Teetee: [link]
    February 10, 2015, 12:23:39 pm

* Recent Posts

Re: SP ShoutBox Android App? by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[Yesterday at 09:44:43 pm]


Re: Shoutbox refresh and page reload discrepancy by velorooms
[Yesterday at 08:50:53 pm]


Re: SP ShoutBox Android App? by velorooms
[Yesterday at 08:36:37 pm]


Re: SP ShoutBox Android App? by velorooms
[Yesterday at 08:32:30 pm]


Re: SimplePortal 2.3.6 Released! by velorooms
[Yesterday at 02:39:16 pm]

Blocks speak! Do you have an interest in getting more blocks - or even making your own? The Blocks Board is for you!

Author Topic: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?  (Read 2768 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Unruler

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« on: October 28, 2012, 08:31:57 am »
I've installed a new skin (bluez) and noticed that it makes shout! button too big so it doesn't fit on a same line with text field.

So I wounder how could I remove shout! button or figure it out somehow else?

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2012, 11:19:15 am »
Instead of removing it, you could make your submit button smaller by opening your Themes/Bluez/css/index.css
and find:
Code: [Select]
.button_submit, .button_reset
{
background-image: url(../images/button-sprite.png);
background-position: 0 -1134px;
    border: 1px solid #D3D3D3;
    color: #555;
    text-shadow: 0 1px 0 rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.8);
cursor: pointer;
font: "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
font-size: 12px;
font-weight: bold;
padding: 5px 9px;
border-radius: 3px;
    box-shadow: 0 1px 1px rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.08);
margin: 0 5px 20px;
display: inline-block;
}

and change it to something like:
Code: [Select]
.button_submit, .button_reset
{
background-image: url(../images/button-sprite.png);
background-position: 0 -1134px;
    border: 1px solid #D3D3D3;
    color: #555;
    text-shadow: 0 1px 0 rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.8);
cursor: pointer;
font: "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
font-size: 10px;
font-weight: bold;
padding: 2px 1px 2px 1px;
border-radius: 3px;
    box-shadow: 0 1px 1px rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.08);
margin: 0 5px 20px;
display: inline-block;
}

Offline Unruler

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2012, 08:29:11 pm »
Thanks for the response, it worked but it also made every button smaller, when in default theme for example button in shoutbox is smaller than average button.

And shout! button serves no practical purpose anyway, I think people are smart enough to figure out to hit enter.

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2012, 09:07:04 pm »
You may try opening Themes/default/PortalShoutbox.template.php and find:
Code: [Select]
<input type="submit" name="submit_shout" value="', $txt['sp_shoutbox_button'], '" class="sp_float_right button_submit" onclick="sp_submit_shout(', $shoutbox['id'], ', \'', $context['session_var'], '\', \'', $context['session_id'], '\'); return false;" />and replace with something like:
Code: [Select]
<input type="submit" name="submit_shout" value="', $txt['sp_shoutbox_button'], '" class="sp_float_right button_submit" style="display:none" onclick="sp_submit_shout(', $shoutbox['id'], ', \'', $context['session_var'], '\', \'', $context['session_id'], '\'); return false;" />This should just make the button not display on the site.

Then open your Themes/default/css/portal.css and find:
Code: [Select]
input.shoutbox_input
{
width: 65%;
}
and change the value to something like 95% so the text field fits better.  There may be a better way to do what you want as my coding is limited.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2012, 09:56:57 pm by TinMan »

Offline Unruler

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2012, 09:56:02 pm »
Limited? Mine is non existing!

Thanks a lot, worked like a charm!

Also all that code modification gives me phpbb vibes xD

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2012, 10:03:19 pm »
Your welcome, glad it worked. :)

Offline AngelinaBelle

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 4885
  • Gender: Female
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2012, 10:23:24 am »
Welcome to Simple Portal.
Glad that worked.  Hope you won't mind me marking the question solved.
Please to keep this website running, if you like SimplePortal, make a
one-time subscription. Thank you for your support.

Have you tried the SimplePortal documentation?

Offline Unruler

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2012, 01:19:26 pm »
Welcome to Simple Portal.

Thanks!

Quote
Glad that worked.  Hope you won't mind me marking the question solved.

Yeah, that's cool.

Offline Bushstar

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • SMF Version: 2.0.5
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2013, 04:10:47 pm »
This does remove the button but when you press enter to submit the text it refreshes the whole page where the button would only refresh the shoutbox.

How can the button be removed by the shoutbox update from enter being pressed without refreshing the page?

Offline [SiNaN]

  • Mr. SimplePortal
  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 6604
  • The Amazing Coder!
  • SMF Version: 2.0.9
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2013, 10:41:14 am »
This change should fix your issue:

Portal.template.php

Code: (Find) [Select]
$context['browser']['is_ie']
Code: (Replace) [Select]
true
And slowly, you come to realize... It's all as it should be...