collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 60
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 2
  • Dot Users Online:

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • Nakroma: i know this is just another question but im too dumb for it, where can I actualy get into the GENERAL SETTINGS page? im dumb sorry ;-;
    Today at 04:27:39 PM
  • Nakroma: ahh okey, i get it. thanks
    Today at 04:16:18 PM
  • [SiNaN]: Please don't get me wrong; I didn't mean that. You need to use the navigation menu right above the yellow Documentation bar you describe to navigate through different sections of documentation.
    Today at 04:12:37 PM
  • Nakroma: okey I am dumb, could someone point out where at the top of the site it is? with a screenshot or something? if you mean the yellow Documention bar, thats not clickable for  me :|
    Today at 03:57:34 PM
  • [SiNaN]: I wouldn't say it's hidden, lol. And it's extensive enough, thanks to Angelina.
    Today at 02:28:55 PM
  • oNLy1: Documentation [link] (hidden at top of site)
    Today at 12:48:01 PM
  • Nakroma: am I dumb or is there actually no tutorial? [link]
    Today at 08:29:41 AM
  • AngelinaBelle: Welcome Gusto Prod.  Please visit [link] for info on creating an SMF forum
    Yesterday at 12:04:00 PM
  • GUSTO PROD: hi all give me creat new forum free
    April 16, 2014, 12:21:54 PM
  • AngelinaBelle: Hello w1ck3d! Welcome to Simple Portal. Unfortunately, there are not Russian speakers here very often.  Aplogies
    April 14, 2014, 07:49:26 AM
  • w1ck3d: тест
    April 14, 2014, 02:50:12 AM
  • Underdog: How to use Simple Portal for SMF: [link]
    April 02, 2014, 07:52:45 PM
  • Underdog: Thariq, please post questions in the forum. thank you.
    April 02, 2014, 07:51:40 PM
  • Thariq: how to create portal/site
    April 02, 2014, 06:30:42 AM
  • Ali çelen: forum nasıl oluştırıcam
    March 30, 2014, 10:59:08 PM
  • Ali çelen: sa
    March 30, 2014, 10:58:54 PM
  • AngelinaBelle: processor -- I think your customization will probably be just fine.
    February 14, 2014, 07:18:41 PM
  • AngelinaBelle: noumankhan: Welcome to SimplePortal.  Please read the documentation above. If you have questions about how to make a forum, please seek help at [link]
    February 14, 2014, 07:16:45 PM
  • noumankhan: how can i make forum plz tell me
    February 13, 2014, 09:41:03 AM
  • noumankhan: hello
    February 13, 2014, 09:40:47 AM

* Team Blog

* Recent Posts

Installation errors? Mod incompatibilities? Upgrade problems? Make your way over to the Install and Upgrade Support board for all your solutions!

Author Topic: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?  (Read 2255 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Unruler

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« on: October 28, 2012, 06:31:57 AM »
I've installed a new skin (bluez) and noticed that it makes shout! button too big so it doesn't fit on a same line with text field.

So I wounder how could I remove shout! button or figure it out somehow else?

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2012, 09:19:15 AM »
Instead of removing it, you could make your submit button smaller by opening your Themes/Bluez/css/index.css
and find:
Code: [Select]
.button_submit, .button_reset
{
background-image: url(../images/button-sprite.png);
background-position: 0 -1134px;
    border: 1px solid #D3D3D3;
    color: #555;
    text-shadow: 0 1px 0 rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.8);
cursor: pointer;
font: "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
font-size: 12px;
font-weight: bold;
padding: 5px 9px;
border-radius: 3px;
    box-shadow: 0 1px 1px rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.08);
margin: 0 5px 20px;
display: inline-block;
}

and change it to something like:
Code: [Select]
.button_submit, .button_reset
{
background-image: url(../images/button-sprite.png);
background-position: 0 -1134px;
    border: 1px solid #D3D3D3;
    color: #555;
    text-shadow: 0 1px 0 rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.8);
cursor: pointer;
font: "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
font-size: 10px;
font-weight: bold;
padding: 2px 1px 2px 1px;
border-radius: 3px;
    box-shadow: 0 1px 1px rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.08);
margin: 0 5px 20px;
display: inline-block;
}

Offline Unruler

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2012, 06:29:11 PM »
Thanks for the response, it worked but it also made every button smaller, when in default theme for example button in shoutbox is smaller than average button.

And shout! button serves no practical purpose anyway, I think people are smart enough to figure out to hit enter.

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2012, 07:07:04 PM »
You may try opening Themes/default/PortalShoutbox.template.php and find:
Code: [Select]
<input type="submit" name="submit_shout" value="', $txt['sp_shoutbox_button'], '" class="sp_float_right button_submit" onclick="sp_submit_shout(', $shoutbox['id'], ', \'', $context['session_var'], '\', \'', $context['session_id'], '\'); return false;" />and replace with something like:
Code: [Select]
<input type="submit" name="submit_shout" value="', $txt['sp_shoutbox_button'], '" class="sp_float_right button_submit" style="display:none" onclick="sp_submit_shout(', $shoutbox['id'], ', \'', $context['session_var'], '\', \'', $context['session_id'], '\'); return false;" />This should just make the button not display on the site.

Then open your Themes/default/css/portal.css and find:
Code: [Select]
input.shoutbox_input
{
width: 65%;
}
and change the value to something like 95% so the text field fits better.  There may be a better way to do what you want as my coding is limited.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2012, 07:56:57 PM by TinMan »

Offline Unruler

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2012, 07:56:02 PM »
Limited? Mine is non existing!

Thanks a lot, worked like a charm!

Also all that code modification gives me phpbb vibes xD

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2012, 08:03:19 PM »
Your welcome, glad it worked. :)

Offline AngelinaBelle

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 4703
  • Gender: Female
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2012, 09:23:24 AM »
Welcome to Simple Portal.
Glad that worked.  Hope you won't mind me marking the question solved.
Please to keep this website running, if you like SimplePortal, make a
one-time subscription. Thank you for your support.

Have you tried the SimplePortal documentation?

Offline Unruler

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2012, 12:19:26 PM »
Welcome to Simple Portal.

Thanks!

Quote
Glad that worked.  Hope you won't mind me marking the question solved.

Yeah, that's cool.

Offline Bushstar

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • SMF Version: 2.0.5
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2013, 02:10:47 PM »
This does remove the button but when you press enter to submit the text it refreshes the whole page where the button would only refresh the shoutbox.

How can the button be removed by the shoutbox update from enter being pressed without refreshing the page?

Offline [SiNaN]

  • Mr. SimplePortal
  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 6372
  • The Amazing Coder!
  • SMF Version: 2.0.7
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: Removing "shout!" button from the shoutbox?
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2013, 08:41:14 AM »
This change should fix your issue:

Portal.template.php

Code: (Find) [Select]
$context['browser']['is_ie']
Code: (Replace) [Select]
true
And slowly, you come to realize... It's all as it should be...