collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 55
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • AngelinaBelle: Hello w1ck3d! Welcome to Simple Portal. Unfortunately, there are not Russian speakers here very often.  Aplogies
    Yesterday at 07:49:26 AM
  • w1ck3d: тест
    Yesterday at 02:50:12 AM
  • Underdog: How to use Simple Portal for SMF: [link]
    April 02, 2014, 07:52:45 PM
  • Underdog: Thariq, please post questions in the forum. thank you.
    April 02, 2014, 07:51:40 PM
  • Thariq: how to create portal/site
    April 02, 2014, 06:30:42 AM
  • Ali çelen: forum nasıl oluştırıcam
    March 30, 2014, 10:59:08 PM
  • Ali çelen: sa
    March 30, 2014, 10:58:54 PM
  • AngelinaBelle: processor -- I think your customization will probably be just fine.
    February 14, 2014, 07:18:41 PM
  • AngelinaBelle: noumankhan: Welcome to SimplePortal.  Please read the documentation above. If you have questions about how to make a forum, please seek help at [link]
    February 14, 2014, 07:16:45 PM
  • noumankhan: how can i make forum plz tell me
    February 13, 2014, 09:41:03 AM
  • noumankhan: hello
    February 13, 2014, 09:40:47 AM
  • BurkeKnight: Shoutbox is not for support. That also means, not for asking volunteers to hurry to your support topic. All topics will get seen. :)
    February 12, 2014, 03:39:28 PM
  • processor: Can anyone check this out: [link] thanks guys
    February 12, 2014, 05:54:58 AM
  • matixto: Hi all, can a developer see this thread? [link] Thanks!
    February 06, 2014, 02:44:36 PM
  • imamzw: Halo
    February 05, 2014, 08:17:24 PM
  • dj_king: hello
    February 04, 2014, 10:32:47 AM
  • BurkeKnight: Thank you, old friend :)
    January 29, 2014, 07:01:43 AM
  • [SiNaN]: It's just a little piece of custom code: [link]
    January 27, 2014, 12:55:42 PM
  • BurkeKnight: Ok, where you get that, so I can check mine on my sites? LOL
    January 27, 2014, 06:33:21 AM
  • [SiNaN]: Well, why not I guess. Here's yours: [link] ;)
    January 27, 2014, 12:26:47 AM

* Team Blog

* Recent Posts

Re: SP Navigation Block. by Underdog
[Today at 08:59:11 PM]


Re: Slideshow or Image rotator by Underdog
[Today at 08:53:18 PM]


Re: Hi, I am created pages but. by oNLy1
[Today at 08:39:13 PM]


Re: Homepage link not loading when a user is logged in. by oNLy1
[Today at 08:31:38 PM]


Re: Hi, I am created pages but. by USFA
[Today at 07:25:08 PM]

Join us on IRC! Come on in to #simpleportal on the irc.villageirc.net server.

Author Topic: I don't want my block duplicate my texts  (Read 2305 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« on: January 03, 2013, 04:34:15 AM »
I want to put html text that I will like to display in board index only not repeating in all pages in that board e.g in introduction board, I write description and don't want that same description to be repeated in next page etc but only in board index when clicked introduction board to avoid duplication of same text.
What would I put in "Custom Display Options"? 

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 09:49:15 AM »
If you haven't already, have a look at this page and see if this maybe helps you out. -> Custom Blocks Display.

Are you wanting a block to show in the Introduction Board only and not any topics within that board?
If so, you could try something like...
~board|1.0,-~topic (change board number to your board)
This should allow it to show only in the board index but negate it from showing in any topics.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2013, 12:40:55 PM »
Thank for your help, I'm able to exclude from posts, what I'm looking in addition is to exclude it from the board's next pages, just to have it in the one board index only.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2013, 01:25:22 PM by perfec2 »

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2013, 01:33:45 PM »
Ahh ok...  I can't seem to block it from working on additional board pages either.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2013, 01:50:04 PM »
And Custom Blocks Display document doesn't appear to have the solution. Just thinking if there could be anyway round.
Because allowing same text to appear in all board isn't SEO wise. Still searching for solution....
« Last Edit: January 04, 2013, 01:52:06 PM by perfec2 »

Offline AngelinaBelle

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 4691
  • Gender: Female
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2013, 08:17:23 AM »
The easiest way to accomplish this is to put "forum" in the "Custom Actions".
This should work for standalone or frontpage portals.


Please to keep this website running, if you like SimplePortal, make a
one-time subscription. Thank you for your support.

Have you tried the SimplePortal documentation?

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2013, 02:18:18 PM »
Put "forum" how, before or after the board? please can you write an example of how it will look like?

Offline andy

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 573
  • Gender: Male
    • Outdoor Club Japan (OCJ) アウトドア・クラブ・ジャパン
  • SMF Version: 2.0.5
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2013, 04:57:03 AM »
Best to see the documentation section for this:

http://simpleportal.net/index.php?action=docs;area=block_editor


You can see advanced options and custom display details there in photos/text. Check the box for 'advanced options' in the display and it opens up new choices.
Everyone is a volunteer here so please try and make a small donation to keep the Simple Portal website running


Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2013, 07:51:18 AM »
I'm familiar with the information in the link you provided, it doesn't solve the problem.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2013, 07:58:01 AM by perfec2 »

Offline Underdog

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 720
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
    • Underdog-01 GitHub Repositories
  • SMF Version: 2.0.7
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2013, 09:29:32 AM »

perfec2,

  Edit the block, enable the checkbox for Advanced Options, opt Select Boards, enable the checkbox(es) of the board(s) you want the block to appear on.

Admin -> Blocks -> YOUR SPECIFIC BLOCK -> Advanced Options -> Select Boards -> Opt Whichever Board(s)

After adjusting this setting, Opt to Edit Block (save).

Done.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2013, 02:11:17 PM »
The forum is using 1.x version of smf.
clicking on next page the description repeat itself and in post, but I'm able to get it off the posts made in the board not board pages. I don't want the description texts to duplicate but in only first page of the board.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2013, 04:45:48 AM by perfec2 »

Offline Underdog

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 720
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
    • Underdog-01 GitHub Repositories
  • SMF Version: 2.0.7
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2013, 04:17:17 PM »
perfec2,

  I am not understanding exactly what you are after here. From the link you provided, I see the list of posts has 9 pages & I do not see what is repeating from any Simple Portal block that you want omitted from all but page 1.
  Just to clarify.. this is regarding something showing in a SimplePortal block that you are attempting to omit while viewing any other page of topics with the exception of page1, correct?

 
« Last Edit: February 04, 2013, 06:08:26 PM by Underdog »

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2013, 09:24:58 AM »
I removed it because I didn't want it duplicating in all pages. However, I have just put it back in the footer with few texts for clarification sake. So you can see what I mean there.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2013, 09:29:31 AM by perfec2 »

Offline Underdog

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 720
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
    • Underdog-01 GitHub Repositories
  • SMF Version: 2.0.7
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2013, 09:41:21 PM »
perfec2,

  Imo what you are specifically after requires editing one SimplePortal file. Imo Sinan's negate does not work properly (as documented) in general especially when the url does not contain index.php?

  I wrote an edit for Eudemon a while back that would display a block on specific pages with a different command in the custom display options but I would have to write something specific to negate a block with the given data in that url using preg_match. 

  I'll take a look when I have some time although I can give you something quick right now that will work but only for a custom php block using no title & no body so as not to appear when beyond page 1.

Custom php block (no title & no body):
Code: [Select]
/* Current url */
function currentPagePosts($pageURL = 'http://')
{           
    if (!empty($_SERVER["HTTPS"]))
        $pageURL = "https://";   
   
    if ($_SERVER["SERVER_PORT"] != "80")
        $pageURL .= $_SERVER["SERVER_NAME"].":".$_SERVER["SERVER_PORT"].$_SERVER["REQUEST_URI"];
    else
        $pageURL .= $_SERVER["SERVER_NAME"].$_SERVER["REQUEST_URI"];
   
    return $pageURL;


$page = false;
$checkPage = explode('/', currentPagePosts());

foreach ($checkPage as $check)
{
if ($check == (int)$check && (int)$check != 0)
$page = true;
}

if (!$page)
{
/* Place your code below this comment line that you wish to display on page 1 only!! */



}

I will post a better solution when time permits..  :sleeping:
« Last Edit: February 05, 2013, 09:59:05 PM by Underdog »

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2013, 06:52:48 AM »
Thank for your time, you have been helpful, however the Custom php block is displaying syntax error, I don't know if it has to do with smf version I'm using which is 1.x version of smf

Offline Underdog

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 720
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
    • Underdog-01 GitHub Repositories
  • SMF Version: 2.0.7
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2013, 02:25:33 PM »
Thank for your time, you have been helpful, however the Custom php block is displaying syntax error, I don't know if it has to do with smf version I'm using which is 1.x version of smf

perfec2,

  I am not receiving any syntax error nor any entries in the error log (tested on SMF 1.1.17). It appears to work clean for me.
Perhaps you added code to it that is causing the error.


Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2013, 12:35:40 PM »
Is from my end, I didn't put  echo "the text" , that is solved now as it gives me what I want.
Thank you all for the help.