collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 201
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • Jade Elizabeth: It's GREAT to see you too Sinan!! :D
    July 06, 2016, 02:33:26 am
  • [SiNaN]: Hey Jade! It's great to see you around! Jade!
    July 03, 2016, 06:51:31 am
  • Jade Elizabeth: Oops, sorry I mean HEY SINAN! ;)
    July 01, 2016, 11:07:13 am
  • Jade Elizabeth: Hey Sinan!! :D
    July 01, 2016, 11:06:59 am
  • [SiNaN]: But you shouldn't wait for a security issue and drop by more often. :D
    June 27, 2016, 04:32:18 pm
  • [SiNaN]: Hey ディン1031! It's great to see you around!
    June 27, 2016, 04:31:56 pm
  • ディン1031: Uh to long ago that i was last time here xD
    June 27, 2016, 02:03:08 pm
  • Schnuffeltier: :D
    June 24, 2016, 05:22:34 am
  • Jade Elizabeth: SHOUTBOX IS FOR SHOUTING AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!
    June 24, 2016, 12:57:05 am
  • [DFg]DJF-1975: Thank you, SP!
    June 21, 2016, 01:35:09 pm
  • Skhilled: phpBB is a good product but has a steeper learning curve.
    June 21, 2016, 08:19:04 am
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: Hmm, not so sure about it, Eliana: [link]
    May 05, 2016, 02:03:02 am
  • Eliana Tamerin: That may have faded away now, or gotten better. I hope so. I see a lot of happy phpBB users, so I have to imagine someone is having success.
    April 25, 2016, 12:48:06 am
  • Eliana Tamerin: @andy, the phpBB folks had (at one point, not sure how it is now) a specific set of rules you had to follow to get support. Anyone not found doing so would have their topic ignored.
    April 25, 2016, 12:47:40 am
  • andy: SP team is a breath of fresh air...
    April 24, 2016, 11:24:32 pm
  • andy: Yes they are difficult to deal with at SMF. I never experienced anybody like that at phpbb several years ago.
    April 24, 2016, 11:24:03 pm
  • D.Va: Their team is very antagonistic and I prefer this forum and this staff far more. So kudos to SP for doing it right.
    April 24, 2016, 09:18:21 pm
  • andy: When SMF went gold there was a lot of optimism about progress and talk of 3.0.  Five years on and that soulds like SF.
    April 24, 2016, 08:37:31 pm
  • andy: Just my frustration at the slow pace of SMF. I suppose we have an alternative now.
    April 24, 2016, 08:34:38 pm
  • Burke Knight: Andy, as long as the SMF team keeps like they are doing, there's always going to be bugs, mainly due to SMF issues, because the team can't get their stuff straight.
    April 24, 2016, 08:25:41 pm

* Recent Posts

Re: [Plugin] SP Shoutbox Sounds by obcy
[August 28, 2016, 06:24:43 am]


Re: Button forum login page SMF 2.0.11 by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[August 22, 2016, 04:40:27 am]


Re: Button forum login page SMF 2.0.11 by lisam
[August 21, 2016, 09:42:55 pm]


Re: [Block] Recent Topics/Posts with Post Preview! by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[August 14, 2016, 02:19:12 am]


Re: [Block] Recent Topics/Posts with Post Preview! by Blue
[August 13, 2016, 05:39:41 pm]

Thanks for having an interest with our portal. If you have any requests for features, have a look at the Feature Requests board.

Author Topic: I don't want my block duplicate my texts  (Read 3201 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« on: January 03, 2013, 05:34:15 am »
I want to put html text that I will like to display in board index only not repeating in all pages in that board e.g in introduction board, I write description and don't want that same description to be repeated in next page etc but only in board index when clicked introduction board to avoid duplication of same text.
What would I put in "Custom Display Options"? 

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 10:49:15 am »
If you haven't already, have a look at this page and see if this maybe helps you out. -> Custom Blocks Display.

Are you wanting a block to show in the Introduction Board only and not any topics within that board?
If so, you could try something like...
~board|1.0,-~topic (change board number to your board)
This should allow it to show only in the board index but negate it from showing in any topics.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2013, 01:40:55 pm »
Thank for your help, I'm able to exclude from posts, what I'm looking in addition is to exclude it from the board's next pages, just to have it in the one board index only.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2013, 02:25:22 pm by perfec2 »

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2013, 02:33:45 pm »
Ahh ok...  I can't seem to block it from working on additional board pages either.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2013, 02:50:04 pm »
And Custom Blocks Display document doesn't appear to have the solution. Just thinking if there could be anyway round.
Because allowing same text to appear in all board isn't SEO wise. Still searching for solution....
« Last Edit: January 04, 2013, 02:52:06 pm by perfec2 »

Offline AngelinaBelle

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 4873
  • Gender: Female
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2013, 09:17:23 am »
The easiest way to accomplish this is to put "forum" in the "Custom Actions".
This should work for standalone or frontpage portals.


Please to keep this website running, if you like SimplePortal, make a
one-time subscription. Thank you for your support.

Have you tried the SimplePortal documentation?

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2013, 03:18:18 pm »
Put "forum" how, before or after the board? please can you write an example of how it will look like?

Offline andy

  • On Leave
  • *
  • Posts: 829
  • Gender: Male
    • Outdoor Club Japan (OCJ) アウトドア・クラブ・ジャパン
  • SMF Version: 2.0.11
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2013, 05:57:03 am »
Best to see the documentation section for this:

http://simpleportal.net/index.php?action=docs;area=block_editor


You can see advanced options and custom display details there in photos/text. Check the box for 'advanced options' in the display and it opens up new choices.
Everyone is a volunteer here so please try and make a small donation to keep the Simple Portal website running


Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2013, 08:51:18 am »
I'm familiar with the information in the link you provided, it doesn't solve the problem.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2013, 08:58:01 am by perfec2 »

Offline Chen Zhen

  • The Underdog
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1220
  • Gender: Male
  • MOOSE KNUCKLES
    • WebDev
  • SMF Version: 2.0.11
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2013, 10:29:32 am »

perfec2,

  Edit the block, enable the checkbox for Advanced Options, opt Select Boards, enable the checkbox(es) of the board(s) you want the block to appear on.

Admin -> Blocks -> YOUR SPECIFIC BLOCK -> Advanced Options -> Select Boards -> Opt Whichever Board(s)

After adjusting this setting, Opt to Edit Block (save).

Done.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2013, 03:11:17 pm »
The forum is using 1.x version of smf.
clicking on next page the description repeat itself and in post, but I'm able to get it off the posts made in the board not board pages. I don't want the description texts to duplicate but in only first page of the board.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2013, 05:45:48 am by perfec2 »

Offline Chen Zhen

  • The Underdog
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1220
  • Gender: Male
  • MOOSE KNUCKLES
    • WebDev
  • SMF Version: 2.0.11
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2013, 05:17:17 pm »
perfec2,

  I am not understanding exactly what you are after here. From the link you provided, I see the list of posts has 9 pages & I do not see what is repeating from any Simple Portal block that you want omitted from all but page 1.
  Just to clarify.. this is regarding something showing in a SimplePortal block that you are attempting to omit while viewing any other page of topics with the exception of page1, correct?

 
« Last Edit: February 04, 2013, 07:08:26 pm by Underdog »

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2013, 10:24:58 am »
I removed it because I didn't want it duplicating in all pages. However, I have just put it back in the footer with few texts for clarification sake. So you can see what I mean there.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2013, 10:29:31 am by perfec2 »

Offline Chen Zhen

  • The Underdog
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1220
  • Gender: Male
  • MOOSE KNUCKLES
    • WebDev
  • SMF Version: 2.0.11
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2013, 10:41:21 pm »
perfec2,

  Imo what you are specifically after requires editing one SimplePortal file. Imo Sinan's negate does not work properly (as documented) in general especially when the url does not contain index.php?

  I wrote an edit for Eudemon a while back that would display a block on specific pages with a different command in the custom display options but I would have to write something specific to negate a block with the given data in that url using preg_match. 

  I'll take a look when I have some time although I can give you something quick right now that will work but only for a custom php block using no title & no body so as not to appear when beyond page 1.

Custom php block (no title & no body):
Code: [Select]
/* Current url */
function currentPagePosts($pageURL = 'http://')
{           
    if (!empty($_SERVER["HTTPS"]))
        $pageURL = "https://";   
   
    if ($_SERVER["SERVER_PORT"] != "80")
        $pageURL .= $_SERVER["SERVER_NAME"].":".$_SERVER["SERVER_PORT"].$_SERVER["REQUEST_URI"];
    else
        $pageURL .= $_SERVER["SERVER_NAME"].$_SERVER["REQUEST_URI"];
   
    return $pageURL;


$page = false;
$checkPage = explode('/', currentPagePosts());

foreach ($checkPage as $check)
{
if ($check == (int)$check && (int)$check != 0)
$page = true;
}

if (!$page)
{
/* Place your code below this comment line that you wish to display on page 1 only!! */



}

I will post a better solution when time permits..  :sleeping:
« Last Edit: February 05, 2013, 10:59:05 pm by Underdog »

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2013, 07:52:48 am »
Thank for your time, you have been helpful, however the Custom php block is displaying syntax error, I don't know if it has to do with smf version I'm using which is 1.x version of smf

Offline Chen Zhen

  • The Underdog
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1220
  • Gender: Male
  • MOOSE KNUCKLES
    • WebDev
  • SMF Version: 2.0.11
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2013, 03:25:33 pm »
Thank for your time, you have been helpful, however the Custom php block is displaying syntax error, I don't know if it has to do with smf version I'm using which is 1.x version of smf

perfec2,

  I am not receiving any syntax error nor any entries in the error log (tested on SMF 1.1.17). It appears to work clean for me.
Perhaps you added code to it that is causing the error.


Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2013, 01:35:40 pm »
Is from my end, I didn't put  echo "the text" , that is solved now as it gives me what I want.
Thank you all for the help.