collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 249
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • [DFg]DJF-1975: LOL PLEASE forget I just posted that. I found the answer in my own dang post back in 2015. lol sorry!
    July 04, 2017, 10:47:55 pm
  • [DFg]DJF-1975: I know this SB isnt' for support, but I just have a general question. Who would I contact to find out where SP stores its block info? Is it DB driven or files? I searched the site but came up with nothing. probably my fault any insight is appreciated.
    July 04, 2017, 10:43:36 pm
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: Excuse me but what does Simpleportal have to deal with that?
    February 05, 2017, 08:21:14 pm
  • WhiteEagle: of course IMHO that site appears to be dead :(
    February 04, 2017, 01:08:05 pm
  • WhiteEagle: If I can get that, then I'll use it for that site...
    February 04, 2017, 01:07:35 pm
  • WhiteEagle: decided to not use SMF for any projects, unless I can get a copy of the premium version of the fanfiction archive plugin
    February 04, 2017, 01:06:54 pm
  • expertdecisions: cloudflare
    January 28, 2017, 08:01:47 am
  • aegersz: SM release 2.0.13 !
    January 12, 2017, 06:00:13 am
  • raffo: Tks Emanuele, even if I didn't understand the fix :D
    November 07, 2016, 02:01:20 am
  • emanuele: [link]
    November 01, 2016, 12:43:50 pm
  • emanuele: raffo: the English support board is a good place. ;)
    November 01, 2016, 12:43:38 pm
  • raffo: Where can I find the fix for the shoutbox?
    November 01, 2016, 05:06:09 am
  • [DFg]DJF-1975: To the SP team, I make a point to come here and thank you as much as possible for your work.  so again, THANK YOU!
    October 28, 2016, 10:38:05 am
  • emanuele: That's indeed funny, the limit is present only in the patch and not the full install.
    October 22, 2016, 06:14:58 pm
  • phantomm: and from what I see only patch is broken, full install package is fine
    October 21, 2016, 03:44:44 pm
  • phantomm: they say it for over 3 weeks now..
    October 21, 2016, 03:43:52 pm
  • aegersz: SMF say that bug fix 2.0.13 is coming soon ...
    October 19, 2016, 06:46:12 pm
  • Chen Zhen: check that thread at a later date as that file is not a final fix
    October 10, 2016, 03:09:18 pm
  • [DFg]DJF-1975: Thanks for the shoutbox fix file!
    October 10, 2016, 09:17:19 am

* Recent Posts

Re: I need some help. by andy
[July 17, 2017, 09:33:21 am]


I need some help. by ufaforwork2
[July 16, 2017, 08:55:11 am]


Re: Insecure URL by Chen Zhen
[July 12, 2017, 09:18:57 pm]


Re: PHP 7.1 : A non well formed numeric value encountered by Chen Zhen
[July 12, 2017, 08:41:31 pm]


Re: PHP 7.1 : A non well formed numeric value encountered by emanuele
[July 12, 2017, 07:20:43 am]

Thanks for having an interest with our portal. If you have any requests for features, have a look at the Feature Requests board.

Author Topic: I don't want my block duplicate my texts  (Read 3968 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« on: January 03, 2013, 05:34:15 am »
I want to put html text that I will like to display in board index only not repeating in all pages in that board e.g in introduction board, I write description and don't want that same description to be repeated in next page etc but only in board index when clicked introduction board to avoid duplication of same text.
What would I put in "Custom Display Options"? 

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 10:49:15 am »
If you haven't already, have a look at this page and see if this maybe helps you out. -> Custom Blocks Display.

Are you wanting a block to show in the Introduction Board only and not any topics within that board?
If so, you could try something like...
~board|1.0,-~topic (change board number to your board)
This should allow it to show only in the board index but negate it from showing in any topics.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2013, 01:40:55 pm »
Thank for your help, I'm able to exclude from posts, what I'm looking in addition is to exclude it from the board's next pages, just to have it in the one board index only.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2013, 02:25:22 pm by perfec2 »

Offline TinMan

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • RC Arcade
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2013, 02:33:45 pm »
Ahh ok...  I can't seem to block it from working on additional board pages either.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2013, 02:50:04 pm »
And Custom Blocks Display document doesn't appear to have the solution. Just thinking if there could be anyway round.
Because allowing same text to appear in all board isn't SEO wise. Still searching for solution....
« Last Edit: January 04, 2013, 02:52:06 pm by perfec2 »

Offline AngelinaBelle

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 4871
  • Gender: Female
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2013, 09:17:23 am »
The easiest way to accomplish this is to put "forum" in the "Custom Actions".
This should work for standalone or frontpage portals.


Please to keep this website running, if you like SimplePortal, make a
one-time subscription. Thank you for your support.

Have you tried the SimplePortal documentation?

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2013, 03:18:18 pm »
Put "forum" how, before or after the board? please can you write an example of how it will look like?

Offline andy

  • On Leave
  • *
  • Posts: 859
  • Gender: Male
    • Outdoor Club Japan (OCJ) アウトドア・クラブ・ジャパン
  • SMF Version: 2.0.11
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2013, 05:57:03 am »
Best to see the documentation section for this:

http://simpleportal.net/index.php?action=docs;area=block_editor


You can see advanced options and custom display details there in photos/text. Check the box for 'advanced options' in the display and it opens up new choices.
Everyone is a volunteer here so please try and make a small donation to keep the Simple Portal website running


Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2013, 08:51:18 am »
I'm familiar with the information in the link you provided, it doesn't solve the problem.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2013, 08:58:01 am by perfec2 »

Offline Chen Zhen

  • The Underdog
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1277
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinesis
    • WebDev
  • SMF Version: 2.0.14
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2013, 10:29:32 am »

perfec2,

  Edit the block, enable the checkbox for Advanced Options, opt Select Boards, enable the checkbox(es) of the board(s) you want the block to appear on.

Admin -> Blocks -> YOUR SPECIFIC BLOCK -> Advanced Options -> Select Boards -> Opt Whichever Board(s)

After adjusting this setting, Opt to Edit Block (save).

Done.

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2013, 03:11:17 pm »
The forum is using 1.x version of smf.
clicking on next page the description repeat itself and in post, but I'm able to get it off the posts made in the board not board pages. I don't want the description texts to duplicate but in only first page of the board.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2013, 05:45:48 am by perfec2 »

Offline Chen Zhen

  • The Underdog
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1277
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinesis
    • WebDev
  • SMF Version: 2.0.14
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2013, 05:17:17 pm »
perfec2,

  I am not understanding exactly what you are after here. From the link you provided, I see the list of posts has 9 pages & I do not see what is repeating from any Simple Portal block that you want omitted from all but page 1.
  Just to clarify.. this is regarding something showing in a SimplePortal block that you are attempting to omit while viewing any other page of topics with the exception of page1, correct?

 
« Last Edit: February 04, 2013, 07:08:26 pm by Underdog »

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2013, 10:24:58 am »
I removed it because I didn't want it duplicating in all pages. However, I have just put it back in the footer with few texts for clarification sake. So you can see what I mean there.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2013, 10:29:31 am by perfec2 »

Offline Chen Zhen

  • The Underdog
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1277
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinesis
    • WebDev
  • SMF Version: 2.0.14
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2013, 10:41:21 pm »
perfec2,

  Imo what you are specifically after requires editing one SimplePortal file. Imo Sinan's negate does not work properly (as documented) in general especially when the url does not contain index.php?

  I wrote an edit for Eudemon a while back that would display a block on specific pages with a different command in the custom display options but I would have to write something specific to negate a block with the given data in that url using preg_match. 

  I'll take a look when I have some time although I can give you something quick right now that will work but only for a custom php block using no title & no body so as not to appear when beyond page 1.

Custom php block (no title & no body):
Code: [Select]
/* Current url */
function currentPagePosts($pageURL = 'http://')
{           
    if (!empty($_SERVER["HTTPS"]))
        $pageURL = "https://";   
   
    if ($_SERVER["SERVER_PORT"] != "80")
        $pageURL .= $_SERVER["SERVER_NAME"].":".$_SERVER["SERVER_PORT"].$_SERVER["REQUEST_URI"];
    else
        $pageURL .= $_SERVER["SERVER_NAME"].$_SERVER["REQUEST_URI"];
   
    return $pageURL;


$page = false;
$checkPage = explode('/', currentPagePosts());

foreach ($checkPage as $check)
{
if ($check == (int)$check && (int)$check != 0)
$page = true;
}

if (!$page)
{
/* Place your code below this comment line that you wish to display on page 1 only!! */



}

I will post a better solution when time permits..  :sleeping:
« Last Edit: February 05, 2013, 10:59:05 pm by Underdog »

Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2013, 07:52:48 am »
Thank for your time, you have been helpful, however the Custom php block is displaying syntax error, I don't know if it has to do with smf version I'm using which is 1.x version of smf

Offline Chen Zhen

  • The Underdog
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1277
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinesis
    • WebDev
  • SMF Version: 2.0.14
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2013, 03:25:33 pm »
Thank for your time, you have been helpful, however the Custom php block is displaying syntax error, I don't know if it has to do with smf version I'm using which is 1.x version of smf

perfec2,

  I am not receiving any syntax error nor any entries in the error log (tested on SMF 1.1.17). It appears to work clean for me.
Perhaps you added code to it that is causing the error.


Offline perfec2

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • SMF Version: 1.1.6
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: I don't want my block duplicate my texts
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2013, 01:35:40 pm »
Is from my end, I didn't put  echo "the text" , that is solved now as it gives me what I want.
Thank you all for the help.