collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 45
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • SeeingBlue: I was under the impressions that 500 Internal Server Error are only produced by the server(aka your site). Plus sanb below said he was having the same issue. Anyways just trying to help, not arguing.
    Yesterday at 06:59:40 pm
  • BurkeKnight: SeeingBlue, it may not be this end. There may be an issue in the connection from you to the SP site, that shows that. I know things like that can happen, due to the fact I had issues on my own site before, yet no one else did, nor were there any logs on it.
    Yesterday at 02:46:05 pm
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: I'm not admin nor a staff member... I tried connecting with a different IP and via proxy. No errors...
    December 18, 2014, 01:15:06 pm
  • SeeingBlue: You've just been lucky, Ninja. There is a problem. Check your stats and see how many 500 error hits you've been getting.
    December 18, 2014, 08:08:56 am
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: The server might be have a high load but it still works here...
    December 17, 2014, 03:13:51 pm
  • sanb: i cant post a reply(
    December 17, 2014, 01:36:59 pm
  • SeeingBlue: It's intermittent. I bet if the admin logs into the cpanel they'll find either CPU or Ram hitting it's limit.
    December 17, 2014, 09:11:07 am
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: The site works fine here...
    December 16, 2014, 11:01:27 am
  • SeeingBlue: I was finally able to make 1 post, but I can't edit it or make another. I'm frustrated, I give up.
    December 16, 2014, 08:49:37 am
  • SeeingBlue: I even tried a different browser. I'm just getting a 500 Internal Server Error.
    December 16, 2014, 08:30:15 am
  • SeeingBlue: When I "hit" post, sorry.
    December 16, 2014, 08:26:04 am
  • SeeingBlue: I'm trying to reply to my thread "Loading custom JS files" and when I get post it just loads a blank page.
    December 16, 2014, 08:25:43 am
  • Eliana Tamerin: Let's kick this over to his support topic, folks.
    December 03, 2014, 10:16:21 pm
  • Underdog: what is the issue with it? the naviagtion links? look here: [link]
    December 03, 2014, 09:54:07 pm
  • [SiNaN]: Oh! I didn't even see that. The author seems to have posted some instructions at the theme support topic at sm.org: [link]
    December 03, 2014, 02:11:58 pm
  • WhiteEagle: No the menu on top... the one that comes down when you mouse over it. ;)
    December 03, 2014, 02:02:35 pm
  • [SiNaN]: I already posted it!
    December 03, 2014, 01:51:11 pm
  • WhiteEagle: Any idea what I can do with the menu on top in that theme [SiNaN]?
    December 03, 2014, 01:28:25 pm
  • [SiNaN]: It's a pity that the theme author did that unusual thing for a rare good looking theme.
    December 03, 2014, 12:37:47 pm
  • WhiteEagle: *growls* It's annoying... I can't get SP working with my current theme at LS (Pulse) :(
    December 02, 2014, 10:48:34 pm

* Recent Posts

Welcome to SimplePortal.net! You can download SimplePortal from the Downloads Area!

Author Topic: [Feature Request] Enable blocks in certain themes.  (Read 3131 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline velorooms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • Velorooms
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
[Feature Request] Enable blocks in certain themes.
« on: January 09, 2013, 03:15:14 pm »
Now this one might involve a fair amount of coding so I dont know if its possible or realistically feasible.

An option added to display options to set the theme in which the block appears, so all themes, or just certain themes. As more and more people start using tablets, or mobiles, more smf forums have alternate themes for these devices, and a way of only including certain blocks in certain themes would be superb (so strip out unneeded blocks in mobile themes but keep some), or even for making less bulky themes for those that dont want them.

Admin and Owner of Velorooms.com - Using SMF 2.0.3 and Simpleportal 2.3.5

Offline velorooms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • Velorooms
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: [Feature Request] Enable blocks in certain themes.
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2013, 03:50:11 pm »
Hmm, digging around, this from November 2011

Hello...

It would be great if we had Theme based blocks. So that means that you can choose on what theme you want to show the block.

You'll be able to do this with 2.3.4 version, which will be out very very soon, using Complex Display Options.

I'm also planning to add a proper interface to select particular themes and languages to display the blocks on too. But that will be for the next major version.

but checking the documentation its not listed in any of the advanced display options

http://simpleportal.net/index.php?action=docs;area=custom_blocks_display

The release of 2.3.4 was late november that year and Sinan listed in the features:
Quote
Complex display options using PHP expressions for block display.

got as far as learning that you can put in custom options

$php followed by an expression..

Oh lordy..

hmmmm..,.
Admin and Owner of Velorooms.com - Using SMF 2.0.3 and Simpleportal 2.3.5

Offline velorooms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • Velorooms
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: [Feature Request] Enable blocks in certain themes.
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2013, 12:17:19 pm »
Nobody :( Wheres Sinan..  >:-D
Admin and Owner of Velorooms.com - Using SMF 2.0.3 and Simpleportal 2.3.5

Offline velorooms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • Velorooms
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: [Feature Request] Enable blocks in certain themes.
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2013, 08:35:20 am »
Ok. ive managed to get somewhere with this one, but not in the way I would like but (ie. defining in the block admin where to show the block) but by editing the php similar to what is used to hide the two side panels in a certain theme

Code: [Select]
$block_in_theme = array(38);
if (in_array($settings['theme_id'], $block_in_theme))
$blocks = array_merge(getBlockInfo(false, 227, false, false), $blocks = getBlockInfo(false, 237, false, false), $blocks = getBlockInfo(false, 168, false, false));
else

then by hiding these three blocks, it forcibly includes them in theme number 38.
Only problem is, i can only so far get them to appear in header or footer, rather than top or bottom as I would like.
Admin and Owner of Velorooms.com - Using SMF 2.0.3 and Simpleportal 2.3.5

Offline FireDitto

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Gender: Female
    • Second Pass Weyr
  • SMF Version: 2.0.7
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: [Feature Request] Enable blocks in certain themes.
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2013, 04:20:18 am »
xD this request was exactly why I logged into SP today :D

I'd love to be able to select via what themes I'd like a block to show up on.

Offline velorooms

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • Velorooms
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: [Feature Request] Enable blocks in certain themes.
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2013, 09:09:27 am »
well apparently its possible, but it appears to be a secret :D
Admin and Owner of Velorooms.com - Using SMF 2.0.3 and Simpleportal 2.3.5