collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 59
  • Dot Hidden: 1
  • Dot Users: 1

There aren't any users online.

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • Underdog: there have been recent host changes and most likely issues due to configuration during that process. all should be resolved now please let us know of any further issue in this board: [link]  .. Thank you.
    December 20, 2014, 05:41:39 pm
  • BurkeKnight: Well, sometimes that error does show, like I said, when don't even get to the server. I have yet to figure out why...lol... However, there are times that you will see a msg about server stress here, but I have yet to get a 500 error, myself. And I'm here about 30 times a day, checking for new posts. :P
    December 20, 2014, 05:18:38 am
  • SeeingBlue: I was under the impressions that 500 Internal Server Error are only produced by the server(aka your site). Plus sanb below said he was having the same issue. Anyways just trying to help, not arguing.
    December 19, 2014, 06:59:40 pm
  • BurkeKnight: SeeingBlue, it may not be this end. There may be an issue in the connection from you to the SP site, that shows that. I know things like that can happen, due to the fact I had issues on my own site before, yet no one else did, nor were there any logs on it.
    December 19, 2014, 02:46:05 pm
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: I'm not admin nor a staff member... I tried connecting with a different IP and via proxy. No errors...
    December 18, 2014, 01:15:06 pm
  • SeeingBlue: You've just been lucky, Ninja. There is a problem. Check your stats and see how many 500 error hits you've been getting.
    December 18, 2014, 08:08:56 am
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: The server might be have a high load but it still works here...
    December 17, 2014, 03:13:51 pm
  • sanb: i cant post a reply(
    December 17, 2014, 01:36:59 pm
  • SeeingBlue: It's intermittent. I bet if the admin logs into the cpanel they'll find either CPU or Ram hitting it's limit.
    December 17, 2014, 09:11:07 am
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: The site works fine here...
    December 16, 2014, 11:01:27 am
  • SeeingBlue: I was finally able to make 1 post, but I can't edit it or make another. I'm frustrated, I give up.
    December 16, 2014, 08:49:37 am
  • SeeingBlue: I even tried a different browser. I'm just getting a 500 Internal Server Error.
    December 16, 2014, 08:30:15 am
  • SeeingBlue: When I "hit" post, sorry.
    December 16, 2014, 08:26:04 am
  • SeeingBlue: I'm trying to reply to my thread "Loading custom JS files" and when I get post it just loads a blank page.
    December 16, 2014, 08:25:43 am
  • Eliana Tamerin: Let's kick this over to his support topic, folks.
    December 03, 2014, 10:16:21 pm
  • Underdog: what is the issue with it? the naviagtion links? look here: [link]
    December 03, 2014, 09:54:07 pm
  • [SiNaN]: Oh! I didn't even see that. The author seems to have posted some instructions at the theme support topic at sm.org: [link]
    December 03, 2014, 02:11:58 pm
  • WhiteEagle: No the menu on top... the one that comes down when you mouse over it. ;)
    December 03, 2014, 02:02:35 pm
  • [SiNaN]: I already posted it!
    December 03, 2014, 01:51:11 pm
  • WhiteEagle: Any idea what I can do with the menu on top in that theme [SiNaN]?
    December 03, 2014, 01:28:25 pm

* Recent Posts

Re: Mod adding custom block by Arantor
[Today at 01:14:32 pm]


Re: Mod adding custom block by [SiNaN]
[Today at 12:58:38 pm]


Mod adding custom block by Arantor
[Today at 11:46:28 am]


Re: BoardNews for Frontpage block by zapiy
[Today at 09:43:42 am]


Re: Issue w/ blocks on pages by SeeingBlue
[Yesterday at 04:04:25 pm]

Blocks speak! Do you have an interest in getting more blocks - or even making your own? The Blocks Board is for you!

Author Topic: Forum freezed after SP installation  (Read 1642 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FragaCampos

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • SMF Version: 1.1.8
  • SP Version: None
Forum freezed after SP installation
« on: February 01, 2013, 02:57:16 pm »
Hello.

I'm testing my upgrade from SMF 1 to SMF 2 on localhost and after installing all the mods I want I installed SimplePortal.
The installatio went well without any errors, but now I have two "Forum" buttons on main menu and my forum goes no where, it's completely freezed.
I can't even go to admin panel to uninstall it...

Any thoughts on this?

Offline Bullet

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2050
  • Gender: Male
  • $("li.blurb").hide();
  • SMF Version: 2.0.9
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2013, 04:19:38 pm »
Welcome to SimplePortal's support board.

If worst comes to worse, just wipe your local installation and try again, as you not having access to the admin panel and me without much information on your setup makes it very difficult to give any advice besides look at some core individual files that SimplePortal edits and ensure the edits are made properly without confliction (especially /Sources/Subs.php).

Did you happen to have SimplePortal installed on SMF 1.1? If so, you might want to consider removing all the associated data in the database (this will deleted all your settings, articles, and pages for SP).

What modifications are you specifically installing? What errors are currently in your Forum Error Log (located in the admin panel) once you're able to get into it?
Previously known as Leekoberries

Imagination rules the world.

Offline FragaCampos

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • SMF Version: 1.1.8
  • SP Version: None
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2013, 04:57:38 pm »
Hi, Bullet, thanks for replying.

I didn't have SP installed on SMF 1.x, so no files can be conflicting. I had Tiny Portal, though, and the tables are still present in the database. Don't know if that can be the problem.

Before I installed SP i checked and I had no errors on my error log. I had about 10 mods instaled, but now I really don't know which ones.
I'll try to uninstall SP manually, maybe I can reverse it.

I'll report soon.

Offline FragaCampos

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • SMF Version: 1.1.8
  • SP Version: None
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2013, 07:29:01 pm »
Well, I removed all the edits, all the files and tables from database.
Cleaned the installation from admin panel and installed again. The result is the same.
Everything goes well, no errors, I can navigate through a few pages in admin panel, but when I try to naveigate outside admin anel, my forum freezes and never works again. It's strange because I have no errors in error log, and SP installs correctly in a fresh SMF install...
I'm really lost here. I think I'll have to try and install my forum all over again and start with SP as the first mod...

Offline FragaCampos

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • SMF Version: 1.1.8
  • SP Version: None
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2013, 07:33:12 pm »
Ok, I think I found out what it's going on.
I'm on xaamp, and when I install SP (even on the SMF fresh install) my cpu goes to 100% and the site freezes, of course.

Does anyone know what might me the problem?

Offline Bullet

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2050
  • Gender: Male
  • $("li.blurb").hide();
  • SMF Version: 2.0.9
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2013, 08:23:16 pm »
It would appear to be a problem with your CPU, or with XAAMP. I have no idea.
Previously known as Leekoberries

Imagination rules the world.

Offline FragaCampos

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • SMF Version: 1.1.8
  • SP Version: None
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2013, 11:00:34 pm »
Ok, I managed to "isolate" the problem.

I installed SMF 2.0.4 and then the theme Citiez, from Dzinerstudio. I made no changes to the theme, but I used my database. I removed all the tables that don't belong to SMF installation and I left only the necessary. Nothing belonging to other mods.
When I install SP (with no other mod installed) everything goes fine and I can navigate everywhere. But when I click the button "Home", my forum freezes and I can't go anywhere else.

I don't think it's because of the theme, because I already tested it in a fresh SMF install and "clean" database.
So, it can only be from my database. But what? It works perfectly fine on my SMF 1.1.17 live forum...



Edit: If I remove SP tables from the database, my forum gets back but with the error:

Database Error
Please try again. If you come back to this error screen, report the error to an administrator.

And I can't enter no matter what...
« Last Edit: February 01, 2013, 11:04:42 pm by FragaCampos »

Offline andy

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 659
  • Gender: Male
    • Outdoor Club Japan (OCJ) アウトドア・クラブ・ジャパン
  • SMF Version: 2.0.9
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2013, 11:46:21 pm »
If you have 2 forum buttons then your files (I think subs php) have been changed (mods) - you need to start over with clean SMF files or use the large upgrade package at SMF.


To be sure your theme isnt a problem then  just set up SMF and Simple Portal using only the standard curve them installed as default.
If you start that way you can eliminate lots of possible reasons like bits of old portal code, mods and theme.

Addition

I must have lots of old tables from mods in the database but they do not get used until called from the files (in my experience) so you are looking in the wrong place - forget cleaning the database and start using clean files.

« Last Edit: February 02, 2013, 12:01:21 am by igirisjin »
Everyone is a volunteer here so please try and make a small donation to keep the Simple Portal website running


Offline FragaCampos

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • SMF Version: 1.1.8
  • SP Version: None
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2013, 12:03:00 am »
Hi, igirisjin.
I don't have two buttons anymore. (it weren't actually two buttons, it were actually portal and forum buttons with the same coincident strings)
I just have a clean install of SMF 2.0.4 and a clean install of Citiez Theme, my database, plus SP.

I had no errors before (when I had those "two buttons") and I have no errors now.
The proof is I installed PortaMX and TinyPortal and everything is ok, the forum runs smoothly and there are no errors in the log...

Offline andy

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 659
  • Gender: Male
    • Outdoor Club Japan (OCJ) アウトドア・クラブ・ジャパン
  • SMF Version: 2.0.9
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2013, 01:03:29 am »
Oh good! I will mark this solved then.
Everyone is a volunteer here so please try and make a small donation to keep the Simple Portal website running


Offline FragaCampos

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • SMF Version: 1.1.8
  • SP Version: None
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2013, 08:47:04 am »
I'm sorry, but this is not solved.
I don't want PortaMX nor Tiny Portal, if I did, I wouldn't come here asking for help.

This problem as certainly something to do with SP and my database, but I don't experience any problem outside SP being installed. That's what I meant with my last message.

Offline Underdog

  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 918
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
    • WebDev
  • SMF Version: 2.0.9
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
Re: Forum freezed after SP installation
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2013, 12:59:35 pm »
FragaCampos,

  Is this using xampp or have you applied this to your live forum?

 If it is xampp never mind wiping the db.. create a new folder in the httdocs archive and unzip a fresh copy of SMF 2.0.4 in that folder. Then execute that installation from the url which includes the folder name.

ie. new installation located in: http://localhost/my_forum1

Please make sure the db name & prefix are unique from the other xampp smf installations & that the table prefix should always contain a trailing underscore. Afterward install nothing else but SimplePortal & let us know if the result. See pic below..




« Last Edit: February 02, 2013, 01:06:18 pm by Underdog »