collapse

* Simple Portal Archived Forum

This is an Archive Forum.

The content in this forum may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information, and links in forum pages to other sites may not work.
This forum contains archives for future reference.

Visit our thread at Simple Machines Forum for current support.

SMF 2.1 users: EhPortal is a ported version of Simple Portal specifically designed for the SMF 2.1 branch.
Please visit web-develop.ca to download EhPortal and for its support.

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 310
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: Yup, Still adore SP
    April 21, 2019, 07:08:06 PM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: STILL love SP :)
    November 24, 2018, 05:05:50 AM
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: <3 aegersz
    September 13, 2018, 03:36:09 PM
  • aegersz: I STILL <3 LOVE SimplePortal
    September 13, 2018, 07:11:39 AM
  • aegersz: o LOVE you guys - Simple Portal rocks !
    May 09, 2018, 05:18:59 AM
  • Chen Zhen: our apologies for the site being down.. please read server issues topic
    March 22, 2018, 05:32:38 AM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: LOL PLEASE forget I just posted that. I found the answer in my own dang post back in 2015. lol sorry!
    July 04, 2017, 10:47:55 PM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: I know this SB isnt' for support, but I just have a general question. Who would I contact to find out where SP stores its block info? Is it DB driven or files? I searched the site but came up with nothing. probably my fault any insight is appreciated.
    July 04, 2017, 10:43:36 PM
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: Excuse me but what does Simpleportal have to deal with that?
    February 05, 2017, 08:21:14 PM
  • WhiteEagle: of course IMHO that site appears to be dead :(
    February 04, 2017, 01:08:05 PM
  • WhiteEagle: If I can get that, then I'll use it for that site...
    February 04, 2017, 01:07:35 PM
  • WhiteEagle: decided to not use SMF for any projects, unless I can get a copy of the premium version of the fanfiction archive plugin
    February 04, 2017, 01:06:54 PM
  • expertdecisions: cloudflare
    January 28, 2017, 08:01:47 AM
  • aegersz: SM release 2.0.13 !
    January 12, 2017, 06:00:13 AM
  • raffo: Tks Emanuele, even if I didn't understand the fix :D
    November 07, 2016, 02:01:20 AM
  • emanuele: [link]
    November 01, 2016, 12:43:50 PM
  • emanuele: raffo: the English support board is a good place. ;)
    November 01, 2016, 12:43:38 PM
  • raffo: Where can I find the fix for the shoutbox?
    November 01, 2016, 05:06:09 AM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: To the SP team, I make a point to come here and thank you as much as possible for your work.  so again, THANK YOU!
    October 28, 2016, 10:38:05 AM
  • emanuele: That's indeed funny, the limit is present only in the patch and not the full install.
    October 22, 2016, 06:14:58 PM

* Recent Posts

Adding Forums Button to Nav bar by jirapon
[August 01, 2019, 09:07:12 AM]


Re: Board Icons by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 30, 2019, 04:03:41 PM]


MOVED: Czech translation???? by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 30, 2019, 03:04:51 PM]


Board Icons by jirapon
[July 30, 2019, 07:28:44 AM]


Re: Thankyou Simpleportal, by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 29, 2019, 09:41:29 AM]

NEED HELP? If you're looking for support with Simple Portal, look no further than the Support Board!

Author Topic: Adding portal homepage to linktree  (Read 4519 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Oldiesmann

  • Comrade
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Gender: Male
    • Archie Comics Fan Forum
  • SMF Version: 2.1
  • SP Version: None
  • EhPortal Version: 1.22
Adding portal homepage to linktree
« on: November 09, 2009, 01:08:41 AM »
I'm sure this has been brought up before, but searching didn't turn up anything useful...

I just converted www.seniorsandfriends.org to SimplePortal after we found that the shoutbox in the other portal wasn't as flexible as what we wanted.

However, we are missing one minor feature - the first link in the linktree is always the forum. We want something like this:

Portal homepage: Seniors and Friends (linking to index.php)
Forum: Seniors and Friends (linking to portal homepage) > Forum (linking to forum) ...

How can I add this functionality in?
Michael "Oldiesmann" Eshom

Offline Nathaniel

  • Comrade
  • *
  • Posts: 5203
  • Gender: Male
    • Verbtest.com
  • SMF Version: 2 RC4
  • SP Version: 2.3.3
Re: Adding portal homepage to linktree
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2009, 02:12:05 AM »
The edit below should do what you want.

Code: ("Find (Sources/Subs-Portal.php)") [Select]
    if ($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 1)
        $context['linktree'][0] = array(
            'url' => $scripturl . '?action=forum',
            'name' => $context['forum_name'],
        );

This code will display the "Forum" part of the linktree, everywhere by default.
Code: ("Replace") [Select]
    if ($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 1)
    {
        array_unshift($context['linktree'], array(
            'url' => $scripturl,
            'name' => $context['forum_name_html_safe']
        ));
       
        $context['linktree'][1] = array(
            'url' => $scripturl . '?action=forum',
            'name' => $txt['sp-forum'],
        );
    }

If you don't want to display the "Forum" link on the portal, then the code below will not display it there.
Code: [Select]
    global $board, $topic;
    if ($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 1)
    {
        if (!empty($_REQUEST['action']) || !empty($board) || !empty($topic))
        {
            array_unshift($context['linktree'], array(
                'url' => $scripturl,
                'name' => $context['forum_name_html_safe'],
            ));
           
            $context['linktree'][1] = array(
                'url' => $scripturl . '?action=forum',
                'name' => $txt['sp-forum'],
            );
        }
        else
            $context['linktree'][0] = array(
                'url' => $scripturl,
                'name' => $context['forum_name_html_safe'],
            );
    }
SMF Friend (Former Support Specialist) | SimplePortal DeveloperMy SMF Mods | SimplePortal"Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?" - Who will Guard the Guards?Please don't send me ANY support related PMs. I will just delete them.

Offline [SiNaN]

  • Mr. SimplePortal
  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 6782
  • SMF Version: 2.0.15
  • SP Version: 2.3.7
Re: Adding portal homepage to linktree
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2009, 05:06:51 AM »
It used to be that way before 2.2 I believe. We changed the behavior because it isn't easy to get used to first item in the linktree linking to portal page rather than the board index.
And slowly, you come to realize... It's all as it should be...

Offline Oldiesmann

  • Comrade
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Gender: Male
    • Archie Comics Fan Forum
  • SMF Version: 2.1
  • SP Version: None
  • EhPortal Version: 1.22
Re: Adding portal homepage to linktree
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2009, 01:17:59 PM »
Thanks for the code. That did exactly what I wanted :)
Michael "Oldiesmann" Eshom

Offline H

  • Comrade
  • *
  • Posts: 656
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Version: None
  • SP Version: None
Re: Adding portal homepage to linktree
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2009, 03:26:02 PM »
* H marks this as solved :P
-HFormer Simple Machines Support

Offline Mick.

  • Comrade
  • *
  • Posts: 77
  • Gender: Male
  • Premium SMF Themes
    • idesignSMF
  • SMF Version: 2.0.15
  • SP Version: 2.3.7
Re: Adding portal homepage to linktree
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2009, 11:52:39 PM »
Thank you, i was looking for this. ;D

Offline luciano

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • SMF Version: 2.0.2
  • SP Version: 2.3.5
Re: Adding portal homepage to linktree
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2012, 01:21:07 PM »
I know this is old and the topic is solved, but not for me, as it still does not work how I want it to...
with this, When I am on portal i get :
Mysite->forum
and for pages, I get: Mysite -> forum ->pagename

I want it more logic.. so i wrote this fix, let me know if there is a drawback:

- When I am on Portal, i want the main link only: Mysite
- When I am in forum, i want : Mysite -> forum -> and page where I am.
the "forum" being the link to the forum index

- When i create a page, I want : Mysite ->Pagename (and not Mysite->forum->Pagename

To fix this i did the following based on the code above:

Code: [Select]
if ($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 1)
{
if($context['SPortal']['on_portal'] == 1 || isset($_REQUEST['page']))
{
$context['linktree'][0] = array(
'url' => $scripturl,
'name' => $context['forum_name_html_safe']
);

}
else
{
array_unshift($context['linktree'], array(
'url' => $scripturl,
'name' => $context['forum_name_html_safe']
));

$context['linktree'][1] = array(
'url' => $scripturl . '?action=forum',
'name' => $txt['sp-forum'],
);

}
}
Now it seems to work as expected..
Luc
« Last Edit: May 20, 2012, 06:06:31 AM by luciano »