SimplePortal

Support => Install and Upgrade => Topic started by: alan1979 on August 26, 2010, 06:39:03 AM

Title: Forum Button not showing in 2.0 rc3
Post by: alan1979 on August 26, 2010, 06:39:03 AM
Hi im using SMF 2.0 rc3 with simple portal 2.3.2. i installed it with no problems except there is no forum button.

i cant find were to put it in index.template.php. does any one know the php code to add and were to add it please
Title: Re: Forum Button not showing in 2.0 rc3
Post by: deansmar on August 26, 2010, 07:39:57 AM
with the version SMF 2 RC3 you dont have to edit your index.template.php to add the forum button.

this is now done in the Subs.php, which is found in \Sources

if your using SP as well then it should look something like this;

Code: [Select]
'forum' => array(
'title' => empty($txt['sp-forum']) ? 'Forum' : $txt['sp-forum'],
'href' => $scripturl . ($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 1 && empty($context['disable_sp']) ? '?action=forum' : ''),
'show' => in_array($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'], array(1, 3)) && empty($context['disable_sp']),
'sub_buttons' => array(
     ),
),
Title: Re: Forum Button not showing in 2.0 rc3
Post by: AngelinaBelle on August 26, 2010, 07:44:15 AM
With 2.0RC3, you should not have to edit ANYTHING to get the forum button.
 
The package manager is supposed to add that code to Subs.php.
 
1) Were there any "test failed" messages during installation?
2) Can you find the forum-button code in Subs.php (search for 'sp-forum')
 
 
Title: Re: Forum Button not showing in 2.0 rc3
Post by: alan1979 on August 26, 2010, 07:53:47 AM
With 2.0RC3, you should not have to edit ANYTHING to get the forum button.
 
The package manager is supposed to add that code to Subs.php.
 
1) Were there any "test failed" messages during installation?
2) Can you find the forum-button code in Subs.php (search for 'sp-forum')

there were no errors during installation. im looking in subs.php now
Title: Re: Forum Button not showing in 2.0 rc3
Post by: alan1979 on August 26, 2010, 07:58:51 AM
hi ive checked subs.php and sp-forum is not in the file
Title: Re: Forum Button not showing in 2.0 rc3
Post by: alan1979 on August 26, 2010, 08:10:58 AM
hi ive sorted it now. During installation this piece of code was missed out

Code: [Select]
'home' => array(
'title' => $txt['home'],
'href' => $modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 3 && empty($context['disable_sp']) ? $modSettings['sp_standalone_url'] : $scripturl,
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
),
'forum' => array(
'title' => empty($txt['sp-forum']) ? 'Forum' : $txt['sp-forum'],
'href' => $scripturl . ($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 1 && empty($context['disable_sp']) ? '?action=forum' : ''),
'show' => in_array($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'], array(1, 3)) && empty($context['disable_sp']),
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
),
Title: Re: Forum Button not showing in 2.0 rc3
Post by: deansmar on August 26, 2010, 08:13:11 AM
your welcome..  8)   :applause:
Title: Re: Forum Button not showing in 2.0 rc3
Post by: AngelinaBelle on August 26, 2010, 09:51:41 AM
Thanks for that report.
 
If the package manager reports no failed tests and a completed install, but fails to add that code, that sounds like an SMF issue to me. Unless some server-related issue is making it impossible for SMF to recognize some problem.
SimplePortal 2.3.8 © 2008-2024, SimplePortal