SimplePortal

Support => English Support => Topic started by: Matt5L on October 08, 2008, 06:18:42 PM

Title: Install went smooth BUT there are 2 problems...help! (pic + script attached)
Post by: Matt5L on October 08, 2008, 06:18:42 PM
First off I want to say Hi and want to thank everyone who is responsible for this software so far it seems great...

Hey everyone I have SMF 1.1.6 with the Black Rain script by Crip.
My forum is @ http://www.sn95forums.com/forum  (I un-installed the software temporarly because of problem #1 below)

I just uploaded the simple porta 2.0.4l via the package manager.  All went well.

PROBLEM #1) First things first, at the top of my screen I have a whole bunch of gibberish:
FOR IMAGE CLICKY HERE ---> http://www.sn95forums.com/hosting/users/Matt94GT/gibberish2.jpg

PROBLEM #2)Also I tried to get the "Forum" Button to work, I entered the text that I read in another thread on the forum but it just doesn't look right (also see image above).

// How about the [forum] button?
   echo '<td class="mainnav"><a href="', $scripturl, '?action=forum">' , $txt['sp-forum'] , '</a></td>';

Above is the code I put in there...



I have attached my theme's INDEX TEMPLATE.


Thanks in advance,
Matt
Title: Re: Install went smooth BUT there are 2 problems...help! (pic + script attached)
Post by: ccbtimewiz on October 08, 2008, 09:04:08 PM
Open ./Themes/default/languages/modifications.english.php and ensure all $txt[] strings are BEFORE the ?> tag.

Likewise I have gone through your index.template.php file and have found some errors. Here they are:

#1
Code: [Select]
// How about the [arcade] button?
echo '<li><a href="', $scripturl, '?action=arcade"><span>', $txt[arcade] , '</span></a></li>';

Use of undefined constant assumed as "arcade". Change $txt[arcade] to $txt['arcade']. And then make certain that there is a $txt['arcade'] = 'Arcade'; string in the ./Themes/default/languages/modifications.english.php file.

So it would look like this:

Code: [Select]
// How about the [arcade] button?
echo '<li><a href="', $scripturl, '?action=arcade"><span>', $txt['arcade'] , '</span></a></li>';

Also it might just be a problem with the theme, but you can't really have third element tags with a reference tag. The <span> and </span> tags are not needed. But I'm not the maker of that theme, so perhaps it was intentional.


#2
Code: [Select]
?>


CancelCancel

Undefined text. This would put the words CancelCancel at the top of your forum as it isn't in the php tags. Change it to:

Code: [Select]
?>

#3
Code: [Select]
// How about the [forum] button?
echo '<td class="mainnav"><a href="', $scripturl, '?action=forum">' , $txt['sp-forum'] , '</a></td>';

You're using it in the incorrect style that your index is using. Do it like this:

Code: [Select]
// How about the [forum] button?
echo '<li><a href="', $scripturl, '?action=forum" >', $txt['sp-forum'], '</a></li>';


#4
Code: (multiple instances) [Select]
<br>
<br> is not valid XHTML makeup. Make sure to close them like so:

Code: [Select]
<br />

#5
Code: [Select]
</head>
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.sn95forums.com/favicon.ico" />

Link relevance tags must be within the head tags. Likewise try doing it in a better fashion like so:

Code: [Select]
<link rel="shortcut icon" type="image/x-icon" href="favicon.ico" />
<link rel="icon" href="/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
</head>


#6
Code: [Select]
// Change Forum width in StyleSheet.css
echo '<div id="widthControl">';
echo '
<div id="ob1"><div id="ib1">';

echo '<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0"><tr>
<td>';
echo '</td>
<center><script src="http://www.sn95forums.com/forum/top.js"></script></center>
<center><script src="http://www.sn95forums.com/forum/snow.js"></script></center>
<br>
<a href="http://www.stangnet.com/top/in.php?id=90" TARGET="_blank" >
<center><img src="http://www.sn95forums.com/banners/top100burgandy2.jpg" border="0" /></center></a>

</tr>
</table>
<div class="tborder" ', $context['browser']['needs_size_fix'] && !$context['browser']['is_ie6'] ? ' style="width: 100%;"' : '', '>';

A lot of deprecated tags, and some poor spacing. Try doing it like so:

Code: [Select]
// Change Forum width in StyleSheet.css
echo '
<div id="widthControl">';
echo '
<div id="ob1">
<div id="ib1">';

echo '
<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td align="center">
<script src="http://www.sn95forums.com/forum/top.js"></script>
<script src="http://www.sn95forums.com/forum/snow.js"></script>
<br />
<a href="http://www.stangnet.com/top/in.php?id=90" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.sn95forums.com/banners/top100burgandy2.jpg" border="0" alt="*" /></a>
</td>
</tr>
</table>';

echo '
<div class="tborder" ', $context['browser']['needs_size_fix'] && !$context['browser']['is_ie6'] ? ' style="width: 100%;"' : '', '>';
Title: Re: Install went smooth BUT there are 2 problems...help! (pic + script attached)
Post by: Matt5L on October 08, 2008, 11:26:46 PM
Ok I did all you said and I still have random text/code at the top of the forums see here its up live now:
http://www.sn95forums.com/forum/index.php

I have attached my modifications php script.

THANKS
Title: Re: Install went smooth BUT there are 2 problems...help! (pic + script attached)
Post by: ccbtimewiz on October 09, 2008, 12:03:26 PM
In that file:

Find:
Code: [Select]
$txt['relatedCustom'] = 'Custom';?>
// SP General

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
$txt['relatedCustom'] = 'Custom';
// SP General

Find:
Code: [Select]
$txt['sp-arcadeon'] = 'on ';
Replace with:
Code: [Select]
$txt['sp-arcadeon'] = 'on ';
?>
Title: Re: Install went smooth BUT there are 2 problems...help! (pic + script attached)
Post by: Matt5L on October 09, 2008, 01:09:24 PM
Thanks
Title: Re: Install went smooth BUT there are 2 problems...help! (pic + script attached)
Post by: Matt5L on October 09, 2008, 06:48:29 PM
Ok well I did that and now im still getting a "" at the top of my forums, as well as when its listing the forum position it says: "Forum  �  General  �  .:Lounge:"  instead of: "Forum > General > .:Lounge:."

Also now on my forum "Home" page it seems that images are missing or something along those lines?
See it here:
http://www.sn95forums.com/forum/index.php


Thanks,
Matt
Title: Re: Install went smooth BUT there are 2 problems...help! (pic + script attached)
Post by: ???1031 on October 10, 2008, 12:36:31 AM
OK well I did that and now I'm still getting a "" at the top of my forums, as well as when its listing the forum position it says: "Forum  �  General  �  .:Lounge:"  instead of: "Forum > General > .:Lounge:."

Also now on my forum "Home" page it seems that images are missing or something along those lines?
See it here:
http://www.sn95forums.com/forum/index.php


Thanks,
Matt
I think you uploaded a utf8 file with text mode transfare, and than this could happen.

But the easiest way to solve this is, to download the latest changed files, and save them in "ANSI" Format and upload them again or upload the files with binary transfare, than i think this will not appear any more.

Bye
DIN1031
Title: Re: Install went smooth BUT there are 2 problems...help! (pic + script attached)
Post by: Matt5L on October 11, 2008, 12:52:58 AM
I noticed on IE it displays as a  ? instead of the >
example
Forum  ?  .:SN95 FORUMS:.  ?  Introductions  ?  New from NJ  :angry-yell:

Anyways I tried saving it as the other format, but instead of the '»¿' or '?' I get a '?' anyways I reversed it to how it was. Its still in UTF-8 my laptop is broken and I only have wordpad on here can someone please help solve my previous problem and re-attach it as the proper ANSI format?!  Please.
I have attached the updated file (fixes from above).

ALSO one more thing, I added a SMF Gallery, how do I get the gallery button up there?  I put this in there:
Code: [Select]
// How about the [gallery] button?
     echo '<li><a href="', $scripturl, '?action=gallery" ><span>', $txt['sp-gallery'], '</span></a></li>';
But I just get one little tiny square no button?

Thanks!!
Title: Re: Install went smooth BUT there are 2 problems...help! (pic + script attached)
Post by: Nathaniel on November 13, 2008, 06:56:32 PM
Your forum link doesn't appear to work. Are you still having issues with this Matt5L?

Do you need any more help?
SimplePortal 2.3.8 © 2008-2024, SimplePortal