SimplePortal

Customization => Custom Coding => Topic started by: sparkster666 on August 16, 2010, 09:16:20 PM

Title: custom menublock help
Post by: sparkster666 on August 16, 2010, 09:16:20 PM
SMF 2.0 RC3
SimplePortal 2.3.2

http://www.ligs.us/woot/index.php
 (http://www.ligs.us/woot/index.php)

I am trying to use a custom menu block. It messes up my entire site when active. Can you please take a look at the code im using to see my error. It is in a cuctom html side block

here is a link to the code

http://www.ampaste.net/m1040d33c (http://www.ampaste.net/m1040d33c)
Title: Re: custom menublock help
Post by: AngelinaBelle on August 18, 2010, 04:56:50 PM
Quote
Page created in 376.504 seconds with 25 queries.
It takes a really long time to load!
 
What does it look like if you leave this menu block out?
It looks to me as though the first place you go wrong is at
Code: [Select]
<td><!--%%%%%%%%%%%% UKBL ~ Quality Menu Styles [Keep in head for full validation!] %%%%%%%%%%%-->  This starts a new column to the right of the column <td width="180" id="sp_left">, and at the same time breaks the divs that already wrapped around the stuff.
This is not what you want.
 
The HTML validator can help you track down the errors.
 
This seems like a custom coding issue.
Title: Re: custom menublock help
Post by: sparkster666 on August 18, 2010, 05:39:29 PM
Thanks that mad it appear in the correct place. The only problem now is that the fly out menus appear under the forum??

www.ligs.us/woot
Title: Re: custom menublock help
Post by: AngelinaBelle on August 19, 2010, 09:18:54 AM
A style tag never belongs in the body of the document. http://www.w3schools.com/TAGS/tag_style.asp (http://www.w3schools.com/TAGS/tag_style.asp)
It is not being interpreted, at least not by IE8.  You can see this using IE8 Developers tools. FireFox' FireBug plug-in shows you similar stuff.  Apparantly, some browsers let you slide on this with HTML doctype (as in your current production site), but are more strict when you are using an XHTML doctype.
 
Those CSS things belong in a .css file.  Themes/default/css/portal.css would be an OK place to put them.
 
After you handle that, you'll probably want to get rid of the scroll bars.
That will require a small customization to Portal.template.php, and we can handle that in a separate step.
 
 
 
Title: Re: custom menublock help
Post by: AngelinaBelle on August 19, 2010, 09:48:21 AM
Here's how to get rid of scrollbars when you want to get rid of scrollbars.
This will be similar to the advice I gave in http://simpleportal.net/index.php?topic=5356.msg34256#msg34256 (http://simpleportal.net/index.php?topic=5356.msg34256#msg34256)
 
But this will be a more general trick you can apply when editing any block, if the scrollbars cause you a problem.
 
First, before you customize any code, edit that custom block.  To the custom body style, add sp_no_scroll_bars You'll see why.
Now edit Themes/default/Portal.template.php
Code: (find) [Select]
<td class="sp_block_padding', ($block['type'] == 'sp_menu') ? '' : ' sp_block',
Code: (replace) [Select]
<td class="sp_block_padding',
(($block['type'] == 'sp_menu' || strpos($block['style']['body']['class'],'sp_no_scroll_bars') !== False )
    ? 'sp_content_padding' : 'sp_block'),

Code: (find) [Select]
<div class="', $block['type'] != 'sp_menu' ? 'sp_block' : 'sp_content_padding', '"', !empty($block['style']['body']['style']) ? ' style="' . $block['style']['body']['style'] . '"' : '', '>';
Code: (replace) [Select]
   <div class="',
       (($block['type'] == 'sp_menu' || strpos($block['style']['body']['class'],'sp_no_scroll_bars') !== False )
       ? 'sp_content_padding' : 'sp_block'), '"',
       !empty($block['style']['body']['style']) ? ' style="' . $block['style']['body']['style'] . '"' : '', '>';

Now, any time you use sp_no_scroll_bars in the body custom style, you'll eliminate the scroll bars.

 
Title: Re: custom menublock help
Post by: sparkster666 on August 19, 2010, 04:29:25 PM
Thanks Ill give it a go
SimplePortal 2.3.8 © 2008-2024, SimplePortal