SimplePortal

Support => English Support => Topic started by: Renegd98 on November 06, 2010, 10:13:46 PM

Title: Aeva Gallery Blocks
Post by: Renegd98 on November 06, 2010, 10:13:46 PM
In SP 2.3.3 with SMF 2 RC4 the built in Gallery blocks work fine in Firefox but do not show the images in IE 8/9, Opera or Chrome.

They worked fine I believe with SMF 2 RC3 and Sp 2.3.2
Title: Re: Aeva Gallery Blocks
Post by: AngelinaBelle on November 09, 2010, 10:10:27 AM
I just tested a horizontal block of 4 random items using
SMF 2.0 RC4, SimplePortal 2.3.3, and AEVA media 1.4, and it seems to work just fine.
 
Using IE8's developer's tools, I tried
IE8/IE8 standards
IE7/IE7 standards
IE8 compatability view
IE8/Quirks
 
In each case, I saw a random selection of 4 items from the galleries.
I did this testing logged in as administrator.
Title: Re: Aeva Gallery Blocks
Post by: Renegd98 on November 09, 2010, 11:36:37 PM
Were you using Aeva media Gallery 1.4b ??  Problem did not appear until version 14.b, worked fine in 1.4a...

Edit:  After further digging I found this:

Method Not Implemented

GET to /test/index.php not supported.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Title: Re: Aeva Gallery Blocks
Post by: AngelinaBelle on November 10, 2010, 07:35:35 AM
I have not tried 1.4b.  I'll get back to you when I have a chance to try this.
Title: Re: Aeva Gallery Blocks
Post by: Renegd98 on November 10, 2010, 08:17:56 AM
I have asked my Host to turn off the following:

SecFilterEngine Off
SecFilterScanPOST Off

as suggested by the Aeva documentation.

I never had any issues with this, so they must of implemented this change to Apache lately.  I will let you know if that fixes the issue I am seeing.
Title: Re: Aeva Gallery Blocks
Post by: AngelinaBelle on November 10, 2010, 12:42:27 PM
Good -- please let us know what you learn.  I did try AevaMedia 1.4b + SimplePortal 2.3.3 + SMF 2.0 RC4, and did not see any trouble at all with the gallery block.
Title: Re: Aeva Gallery Blocks
Post by: Renegd98 on November 11, 2010, 05:21:39 PM
Angelina,

Got the issue fixed.

Had to get Mod_Security disabled on my domain.

I never had to do this before but I am not sure if the culprit was SP2 RC4 or Aeva 1.4b...it happened right after I upgraded to those 2 latest releases.

I have added the code to show Random and Latest for those who may not be able to get Mod_security disabled.  These work fine but in my opinion do not look as good as the built in.

Random Gallery
Code: [Select]
function show_aeva_media_block()
{
   global $sourcedir;
// Set amount visible
$visible = "4";
   // Load the language file
   loadLanguage('Aeva');

   // Grab the file.
   if (file_exists($sourcedir . '/Aeva-Subs.php'))
      require_once($sourcedir . '/Aeva-Subs.php');
   // If it doesn't exist, tell them this and stop running.
   else
   {
      echo '<b>You don\'t have Aeva installed! Unable to continue!</b>';
      return;
   }

// Use aeva functions to show the media.
$images = aeva_listItems(aeva_getMediaItems(0, $visible, 'RAND()'), true, '', 0);
$show = '<center><div id="aeva_pics" style="width: 75%;" overflow="visible" >'. $images. '</div></center>';
echo $show;
return;
}   
// show the contents
show_aeva_media_block();

Latest Gallery Items
Code: [Select]
function show_aeva_media_block1()
{
   global $sourcedir;
// Set amount visible
$visible = "4";
   // Load the language file
   loadLanguage('Aeva');

   // Grab the file.
   if (file_exists($sourcedir . '/Aeva-Subs.php'))
      require_once($sourcedir . '/Aeva-Subs.php');
   // If it doesn't exist, tell them this and stop running.
   else
   {
      echo '<b>You don\'t have Aeva installed! Unable to continue!</b>';
      return;
   }

   // Use aeva functions to show the media.
   $images = aeva_listItems(aeva_getMediaItems(0, $visible, 'm.id_media DESC'), true, '', 0);

$show = '<center><div id="aeva_pics" style="width: 75%;" overflow="visible">'. $images. '</div></center>';
echo $show;
return;
}   
// show the contents
show_aeva_media_block1();

I used them in a Top block.... I used both that is why the functions are named slightly different.
Title: Re: Aeva Gallery Blocks
Post by: AngelinaBelle on November 16, 2010, 12:30:35 PM
I'm glad you solved the problem.
 
I am not sure why mod_security was causing a problem with the SimplePortal Gallery block for AEVA Media users.  Do you know why?
 
SimplePortal 2.3.8 © 2008-2024, SimplePortal