SimplePortal

Support => Install and Upgrade => Topic started by: c23_Mike on November 01, 2010, 04:31:58 PM

Title: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: c23_Mike on November 01, 2010, 04:31:58 PM
Hi there!

SMF RC4 is out. Anyone tested it?
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: fl4pj4ck on November 01, 2010, 05:05:38 PM
works with clean installation no problem

however I cannot install it when upgraded RC3->RC4

edit:
just spotted
(http://imgbee.com/images/untitled.png)
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Nathaniel on November 01, 2010, 07:16:18 PM
For now you can add the following code to your "Themes/{themename}/css/portal.css" file:
Code: [Select]
h4.catbg span.left, h4.catbg2 span.left, h3.catbg span.left, h3.catbg2 span.left, .table_list tbody.header td span.left
{
float: left;
display: block;
width: 9px;
height: 31px;
background: url(../images/theme/main_block.png) no-repeat 0 -160px;
}

h4.titlebg span.left, h3.titlebg span.left
{
float: left;
display: block;
width: 9px;
height: 31px;
background: url(../images/theme/main_block.png) no-repeat 0 -200px;
}

Apart from that small css issue, it looks like SP 2.3.2 is compatible with SMF 2 RC4.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Yahmez on November 01, 2010, 08:03:52 PM
I cannot reinstall SP 2.3.2 with a recently upgraded SMF 2.0RC4 database. It installs but then errors on install2.php

Database Error
Duplicate key name 'state'
File: /xxx/xxx/public_html/Packages/temp/install2.php
Line: 521
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: fl4pj4ck on November 01, 2010, 09:36:24 PM
^^^ I'm getting exactly same error
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: locutusweb on November 02, 2010, 09:20:54 AM
The same error as Yahmez and fl4pj4ck over here...
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Katrien on November 02, 2010, 10:14:23 AM
same problem here, but luckaly i tested first on my testsite.

Duplicate key name 'state'
File: /xxx/xxx/xxxx/xxxxx/public_html/Packages/temp/install2.php
Line: 521

Is there a solution pls?

Thanks in advance
Kind regards
Katrien
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Oldiesmann on November 02, 2010, 11:20:07 AM
Easiest solution to that issue is to open up SimplePortal_2.3.2.zip and remove these lines of code from package-info.xml:

Code: [Select]
<!-- Install scripts -->
<database>install2.php</database>

To do that either extract the files to your computer, edit that one and recreate the archive, or edit it directly from 7zip (right-click -> Edit, make the changes and hit CTRL+S, then click yes when prompted to update the archive)
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: MaXi on November 02, 2010, 12:19:10 PM
Well...  :applause:
And will be SP v. 2.4?
Will be soon now when RC4 is out?  :angel:
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Maarten on November 02, 2010, 03:12:29 PM
So, it isn't compatible yet?
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: locutusweb on November 02, 2010, 04:40:15 PM
Oldiesman quick fix solved the installing problem. I noticed that the menubar wasn't automatically updated when I installed SP. Did this manually. For now, I found no other problems with SP and SMF 2.0 RC4.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Boxervrienden.nl on November 02, 2010, 06:04:48 PM
Easiest solution to that issue is to open up SimplePortal_2.3.2.zip and remove these lines of code from package-info.xml:

Code: [Select]
      <!-- Install scripts -->
      <database>install2.php</database>

To do that either extract the files to your computer, edit that one and recreate the archive, or edit it directly from 7zip (right-click -> Edit, make the changes and hit CTRL+S, then click yes when prompted to update the archive)
This solution works but the button "forum" is missing.

How can I solve this problem?
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Katrien on November 02, 2010, 06:31:42 PM
Easiest solution to that issue is to open up SimplePortal_2.3.2.zip and remove these lines of code from package-info.xml:

Code: [Select]
<!-- Install scripts -->
<database>install2.php</database>

To do that either extract the files to your computer, edit that one and recreate the archive, or edit it directly from 7zip (right-click -> Edit, make the changes and hit CTRL+S, then click yes when prompted to update the archive)

this advise was succesfull for my forum. Thanks!

Kind regards
Katrien
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: DollarSRV on November 02, 2010, 06:50:17 PM
Same here works fine for me  8)
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Yahmez on November 02, 2010, 08:12:19 PM
Easiest solution to that issue is to open up SimplePortal_2.3.2.zip and remove these lines of code from package-info.xml:

Code: [Select]
      <!-- Install scripts -->
      <database>install2.php</database>

To do that either extract the files to your computer, edit that one and recreate the archive, or edit it directly from 7zip (right-click -> Edit, make the changes and hit CTRL+S, then click yes when prompted to update the archive)
This solution works but the button "forum" is missing.

How can I solve this problem?

In subs.php find:
Code: [Select]
'home' => array(
'title' => $txt['home'],
'href' => $scripturl,
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
),

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
'home' => array(
'title' => $txt['home'],
'href' => $scripturl,
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
),
'forum' => array(
'title' => empty($txt['sp-forum']) ? 'Forum' : $txt['sp-forum'],
'href' => $scripturl . ($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 1 && empty($context['disable_sp']) ? '?action=forum' : ''),
'show' => in_array($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'], array(1, 3)) && empty($context['disable_sp']),
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
),
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Kellen on November 02, 2010, 11:21:44 PM
I cannot install the simple portal on my forums, I keep getting the error shown below when I try to. I tried Oldiesmann's solution and it still doesn't work. Unless this this error can be fixed, I think a new Simpleportal might be in need.  :(

(http://i56.tinypic.com/35a56xk.png)
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Yahmez on November 02, 2010, 11:29:33 PM
I cannot install the simple portal on my forums, I keep getting the error shown below when I try to. I tried Oldiesmann's solution and it still doesn't work. Unless this this error can be fixed, I think a new Simpleportal might be in need.  :(

(http://i56.tinypic.com/35a56xk.png)

That looks like it is a file permission issue. Did you enter the required FTP information?
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Kellen on November 02, 2010, 11:35:31 PM
I changed the rights of the majority of the ones I could find to 777, as for most of the sp related ones I couldn't find them anywhere.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Raji on November 03, 2010, 01:11:20 AM
Easiest solution to that issue is to open up SimplePortal_2.3.2.zip and remove these lines of code from package-info.xml:

Code: [Select]
<!-- Install scripts -->
<database>install2.php</database>

To do that either extract the files to your computer, edit that one and recreate the archive, or edit it directly from 7zip (right-click -> Edit, make the changes and hit CTRL+S, then click yes when prompted to update the archive)

It did not work for me.

Duplicate key name 'state'
File: /home/xx/public_html/diwwan/Packages/temp/SimplePortal_2.3.2/install2.php
Line: 521

Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: ShadowMaster on November 03, 2010, 02:41:34 AM
Easiest solution to that issue is to open up SimplePortal_2.3.2.zip and remove these lines of code from package-info.xml:

Code: [Select]
<!-- Install scripts -->
<database>install2.php</database>

To do that either extract the files to your computer, edit that one and recreate the archive, or edit it directly from 7zip (right-click -> Edit, make the changes and hit CTRL+S, then click yes when prompted to update the archive)

It did not work for me.

Duplicate key name 'state'
File: /home/baaskcom/public_html/diwwan/Packages/temp/SimplePortal_2.3.2/install2.php
Line: 521

If you still get that error, you failed to modify the archive and it is still attempting to run the install2.php script.
You need to remove the quoted section from the package-info.xml and then place the updated file back into the archive before uploading it and attempting to install.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Boxervrienden.nl on November 03, 2010, 03:23:26 AM
Easiest solution to that issue is to open up SimplePortal_2.3.2.zip and remove these lines of code from package-info.xml:

Code: [Select]
      <!-- Install scripts -->
      <database>install2.php</database>

To do that either extract the files to your computer, edit that one and recreate the archive, or edit it directly from 7zip (right-click -> Edit, make the changes and hit CTRL+S, then click yes when prompted to update the archive)
This solution works but the button "forum" is missing.

How can I solve this problem?

In subs.php find:
Code: [Select]
         'home' => array(
            'title' => $txt['home'],
            'href' => $scripturl,
            'show' => true,
            'sub_buttons' => array(
            ),
            'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
         ),

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
         'home' => array(
            'title' => $txt['home'],
            'href' => $scripturl,
            'show' => true,
            'sub_buttons' => array(
            ),
            'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
         ),
         'forum' => array(
            'title' => empty($txt['sp-forum']) ? 'Forum' : $txt['sp-forum'],
            'href' => $scripturl . ($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 1 && empty($context['disable_sp']) ? '?action=forum' : ''),
            'show' => in_array($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'], array(1, 3)) && empty($context['disable_sp']),
            'sub_buttons' => array(
            ),
         ),
Thanks ! This works fine  :nervous-happy:
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Kellen on November 03, 2010, 09:42:20 AM
I did that and it didn't work.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: AngelinaBelle on November 03, 2010, 11:53:37 AM
Kellen,
Please be specific.
What did you do, and what exactly happened?
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: DollarSRV on November 03, 2010, 12:35:08 PM
In subs.php find:
Code: [Select]
         'home' => array(
            'title' => $txt['home'],
            'href' => $scripturl,
            'show' => true,
            'sub_buttons' => array(
            ),
            'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
         ),

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
         'home' => array(
            'title' => $txt['home'],
            'href' => $scripturl,
            'show' => true,
            'sub_buttons' => array(
            ),
            'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
         ),
         'forum' => array(
            'title' => empty($txt['sp-forum']) ? 'Forum' : $txt['sp-forum'],
            'href' => $scripturl . ($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 1 && empty($context['disable_sp']) ? '?action=forum' : ''),
            'show' => in_array($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'], array(1, 3)) && empty($context['disable_sp']),
            'sub_buttons' => array(
            ),
         ),

I have put the code in and the home & forum buttons now show up but i use a standalone url, but it keeps redirecting me to the forum. So what im saying is when i press the home button witch should take me to Here (http://www.gamingmayhem.co.uk/) it doesn't it redirects me to the forum Here (http://www.forum.gamingmayhem.co.uk/)
Any ideas to fix?
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: kaitenkid on November 03, 2010, 12:58:10 PM
Easiest solution to that issue is to open up SimplePortal_2.3.2.zip and remove these lines of code from package-info.xml:

Code: [Select]
      <!-- Install scripts -->
      <database>install2.php</database>

To do that either extract the files to your computer, edit that one and recreate the archive, or edit it directly from 7zip (right-click -> Edit, make the changes and hit CTRL+S, then click yes when prompted to update the archive)
This solution works but the button "forum" is missing.

How can I solve this problem?

In subs.php find:
Code: [Select]
         'home' => array(
            'title' => $txt['home'],
            'href' => $scripturl,
            'show' => true,
            'sub_buttons' => array(
            ),
            'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
         ),

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
         'home' => array(
            'title' => $txt['home'],
            'href' => $scripturl,
            'show' => true,
            'sub_buttons' => array(
            ),
            'is_last' => $context['right_to_left'],
         ),
         'forum' => array(
            'title' => empty($txt['sp-forum']) ? 'Forum' : $txt['sp-forum'],
            'href' => $scripturl . ($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'] == 1 && empty($context['disable_sp']) ? '?action=forum' : ''),
            'show' => in_array($modSettings['sp_portal_mode'], array(1, 3)) && empty($context['disable_sp']),
            'sub_buttons' => array(
            ),
         ),
Thanks ! This works fine  :nervous-happy:

I do everything.. but follow this message:

Error in database
Duplicate key name 'state'
Archivo: /home/xxx/public_html/forum/Packages/temp/install2.php
Línea: 521
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Maarten on November 03, 2010, 04:30:11 PM
If I was Simple Portal, I should release a SMF 2.0 RC4 fix. For example SP 2.3.3 or a 2.3.2 reversion with RC4 fix. I would just like to have it plug 'n play just like it did with RC3<, so even noobs can apply it to their forums.

Anyway, it isn't a problem for me, but I am for 2 weeks not at home (because if my internship) so I don't have much time to update my site. I wrote this post from a iPad.. Which doesn't has the software I need to update my site, so it's kinda risky to do it so fast, on the iPad it is impossible.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: fl4pj4ck on November 03, 2010, 05:19:52 PM
I do everything.. but follow this message:

Error in database
Duplicate key name 'state'
Archivo: /home/xxx/public_html/forum/Packages/temp/install2.php
Línea: 521

no you didn't. removing the part of the code mentioned earlier causes this file (install2.php) not being used at all
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Kellen on November 03, 2010, 10:26:00 PM
I solved the problem, I just reverted back to my old RC3 forums.

I'll upgrade to RC4 if an updated SP is released because it just isn't working for me.

Thanks anyways.

By the way, I still think simple portal is great.  :)
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Raji on November 04, 2010, 01:44:03 AM
Previous issue was resolved but now getting another error to add new block
Database error

Table 'baaskcom_smf2.smf_sp_functions' doesn't exist
File: /home/baaskcom/public_html/diwwan/Sources/Subs-PortalAdmin.php
Line: 104


Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: gheko on November 04, 2010, 02:34:19 AM
I solved the 'problem' but i have a new error and the forum button is mising:

Apply Filter: Only show the error messages of this URL
http://www.club-206.ro/index.php?
Apply Filter: Only show the errors with the same message
8: Undefined index: REQUEST_URL
Apply Filter: Only show the errors from this file
File: /usr/home/club206/domains/club-206.ro/public_html/Sources/Subs.php
Line: 2901

Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Oskarlover on November 04, 2010, 02:37:52 AM
I will recommend all you guys to wait, i applied all this and works fine but, my forum was loading very very slow.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Linda on November 04, 2010, 04:46:18 AM
I will recommend all you guys to wait, i applied all this and works fine but, my forum was loading very very slow.

Oké, thx Oskarlover  ;)
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: AngelinaBelle on November 04, 2010, 07:29:52 AM
Table 'baaskcom_smf2.smf_sp_functions' doesn't exist
This means that the sp_functions table has not been created. This is because install2.php did not run.
 
If you place a copy of this file in the same directory with index.php, then run http://www.baask.com/install2.php (http://www.baask.com/install2.php), your tables will be created.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Raji on November 04, 2010, 10:06:02 AM
Table 'baaskcom_smf2.smf_sp_functions' doesn't exist
This means that the sp_functions table has not been created. This is because install2.php did not run.
 
If you place a copy of this file in the same directory with index.php, then run http://www.baask.com/install2.php (http://www.baask.com/install2.php), your tables will be created.


same directory means folder having smf?
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Nathaniel on November 04, 2010, 08:39:47 PM
Table 'baaskcom_smf2.smf_sp_functions' doesn't exist
This means that the sp_functions table has not been created. This is because install2.php did not run.
 
If you place a copy of this file in the same directory with index.php, then run http://www.baask.com/install2.php (http://www.baask.com/install2.php), your tables will be created.


same directory means folder having smf?


Yes.

I will recommend all you guys to wait, i applied all this and works fine but, my forum was loading very very slow.

That shouldn't be related to any compatibility issues between SP 2.3.2 and SMF 2 RC4.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: busterone on November 04, 2010, 10:13:08 PM
Table 'baaskcom_smf2.smf_sp_functions' doesn't exist
This means that the sp_functions table has not been created. This is because install2.php did not run.
 
If you place a copy of this file in the same directory with index.php, then run http://www.baask.com/install2.php (http://www.baask.com/install2.php), your tables will be created.
That does not work either. The file runs and then returns a different error than what shows up when attempting using package manager with install2.php still referenced in package-info.xml

Code: [Select]
Notice: Undefined index: html_headers in /homepages/xx/xxxx/htdocs/forum/testing1/Sources/Load.php on line 1806

Notice: Undefined index: name in /homepages/xx/xxxxx/htdocs/forum/testing1/Sources/Subs-Portal.php on line 1407
Database Error
Please try again. If you come back to this error screen, report the error to an administrator.
Directory info x'd out deliberately

It is not a big deal for me. I upgraded a copy of live site to RC4 simply as a test. I am not upgrading the live site until this issue is resolved though.   :)
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Raji on November 04, 2010, 11:44:58 PM
Table 'baaskcom_smf2.smf_sp_functions' doesn't exist
This means that the sp_functions table has not been created. This is because install2.php did not run.
 
If you place a copy of this file in the same directory with index.php, then run http://www.baask.com/install2.php (http://www.baask.com/install2.php), your tables will be created.


same directory means folder having smf?


Yes.


Here is the new status after executing install2.php
Notice: Undefined index: html_headers in /home/mysite/public_html/diwwan/Sources/Load.php on line 1813

Notice: Undefined index: name in /home/mysite/public_html/diwwan/Sources/Subs-Portal.php on line 1407
Database Error
Duplicate key name 'state'
File: /home/mysite/public_html/diwwan/install2.php
Line: 521
Back
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: c23_Mike on November 05, 2010, 01:47:55 AM
Hi there!

I think I will also wait until an updated version of SP is out. All this try and error is not funny. I am glad I asked here for the compatibility.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Linda on November 05, 2010, 05:36:42 AM
Hi there!

I think I will also wait until an updated version of SP is out. All this try and error is not funny.

Me too  ;)
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: humbug on November 05, 2010, 06:06:03 AM
I can confirm that you cannot run install2.php and get it to work.  What we had to do was follow all the above steps BUT not run install2.php, instead, when installing the rc4 update chose backup tables, then install SP using the above steps bypassing install2.php, then find the table backup_smf_sp_functions and copy it to smf_sp_functions and all should be well (i have used our tables names, yours may differ).

tbh though we rolled back and are waiting for the SP update.

Cheers

Humbug
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: AngelinaBelle on November 05, 2010, 07:31:49 AM
Now that the RC4-compatable SimplePortal 2.3.3 is out, are you all able to install SimplePortal 2.3.3 with SMF 2.0 RC4?
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Nathaniel on November 05, 2010, 07:34:51 AM
If anyone continues to have issues with upgrading/installing with SP 2.3.3, it would be good if you could start your own topics.
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Linda on November 05, 2010, 07:48:23 AM
Now that the RC4-compatable SimplePortal 2.3.3 is out, are you all able to install SimplePortal 2.3.3 with SMF 2.0 RC4?

Oké, thanks to the SimplePortalTeam  :)
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: MaXi on November 05, 2010, 08:35:10 AM
Nice!
And Bottom Panel a Top Panel will be not?
I like SP and I would appreciate SP had this options.
Or will be SP v. 2.4 with this options and when?
Thanks
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Nathaniel on November 05, 2010, 08:52:20 AM
Nice!
And Bottom Panel a Top Panel will be not?
I like SP and I would appreciate SP had this options.
Or will be SP v. 2.4 with this options and when?
Thanks

http://simpleportal.net/index.php?topic=5333.0
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: MaXi on November 05, 2010, 09:01:12 AM
I know...
There is no essential information... :D
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: Nathaniel on November 05, 2010, 09:05:44 AM
"- New header/footer sides, that appear above and below the current SimplePortal sides."

It seems fairly specific to me about your feature request.

Not sure why you posted it here though, this is definitely the wrong location to be asking about features for future versions of SimplePortal. ;)
Title: Re: SP and SMF RC4 compatible?
Post by: MaXi on November 05, 2010, 09:43:09 AM
I hoped that this options will be in version 2.3.3
Or version 2.4 will be soon.
I need this option necessarily soon.
I don´t want to use TP...
That´s all ;)
SimplePortal 2.3.8 © 2008-2024, SimplePortal