SimplePortal

Customization => Custom Coding => Topic started by: Ian M on June 02, 2016, 06:23:00 AM

Title: Particular Code Not Working
Post by: Ian M on June 02, 2016, 06:23:00 AM
Hi all.

Bit of a long shot I know, but was wondering if anyone could give me a clue where to look for a problem with one block and it's code (or something missing elsewhere).

I have a mod from SMF Packs called Activity Stream which is working 100% and there are no issues at all. I'd like to put the stream into a block and have got the code directly from SMF Packs which as coding goes to add to a block is about as simple as it gets:

<?php
activity_stream('portal');
?>

Unfortunately all I'm getting is an empty block. Apart from hiding the block in it's default location via it's menu, there isn't any configuration to do, so it really is a simple job. I have numerous blocks working 100% and no errors in the log.

So my question is, does this cry out to anyone that I need to check a file somewhere or a similar.

I know it's a long shot and there are so many variables but I'm hoping it triggers something with someone !!

Many thanks.




Title: Re: Particular Code Not Working
Post by: ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦ on June 02, 2016, 10:06:40 AM
I'm sorry but you will have to ask them, if they provide you with some code and it doesn't work, it's their mistake... My guess is that you are missing a require_once for the file that needs to be called, but I don't know which one and not sure I am right about it, either.
Btw, if you are using a php block you don't need <?php ?> tags.

Regards
Title: Re: Particular Code Not Working
Post by: Chen Zhen on June 02, 2016, 04:03:58 PM

If your SP setting of "Disable PHP Validation" is enabled then the block may save without showing you the actual error.
In which case the error may only show in your php error file.

I'm guessing that perhaps the file containing the required function has not been included/loaded.
Figure out what file contains that function & attempt to include it with the require_once function.
This is a paid mod that I do not have an example of therefore this is something you will need to figure out.
As Ninja has stated the author of the mod should be able to help you but if you can tell us what the file name is & its location then I can attempt a possible solution.

ie.
let us say the file containing the function is located at: ../Sources/ActivityStream.php
Code: [Select]
global $sourcedir;
require_once($sourcedir . '/ActivityStream.php');
activity_stream('portal');

Regards.
Title: Re: Particular Code Not Working
Post by: Ian M on June 03, 2016, 10:13:07 AM
Thank you very much for your replies and assistance.

For anyone who may wish to use this feature in a block, the following code works just fine

Code: [Select]
activity_stream('portal');

if (!function_exists('template_stream'))
loadTemplate('Stream');

template_stream();
SimplePortal 2.3.8 © 2008-2024, SimplePortal