SimplePortal

Support => English Support => Topic started by: Oldcrow on June 21, 2018, 09:14:22 PM

Title: Shout Box will not post
Post by: Oldcrow on June 21, 2018, 09:14:22 PM
Running SMF 2.0.15

Simple Portal 2.3.6

Forum: http://seniorsworldwide.net/index.php?action=forum

I am trying to install a shout box, I installed SMFPacks Shoutbox    1.1, set it up. Then I went to SP made a Shout Box block, set that up.

The Shout Box shows but when you type a message in, it will not post.. If you open The Open Popup, and type in a message and hit send, away it goes.

There is an edit for SMF Packs Shoutbox, I look and I am up to date with that..

Any ideas as to what is going on..

Thanks

Ron..

Title: Re: Shout Box will not post
Post by: andy on June 22, 2018, 05:16:13 AM
This is a bit of a 'quick reply' as I haven't checked details and going from memory.

I think the Simple Portal shoutbox block is only for the Simple Portal shoutbox.
Maybe there is code to use in a custom block that will call that shoutbox but that would be in a php or custom html block.

My memory of  SMFPacks Shoutbox is that you insert it somewhere in your page... but it was a long time ago when I last used it. I'm happy with the Simple Portal shoutbox as it works fine now. You could try calling SMFPacks Shoutbox in a custom block and see if it works.
Title: Re: Shout Box will not post
Post by: Oldcrow on June 22, 2018, 08:50:34 AM
This is a bit of a 'quick reply' as I haven't checked details and going from memory.

I think the Simple Portal shoutbox block is only for the Simple Portal shoutbox.
Maybe there is code to use in a custom block that will call that shoutbox but that would be in a php or custom html block.

My memory of  SMFPacks Shoutbox is that you insert it somewhere in your page... but it was a long time ago when I last used it. I'm happy with the Simple Portal shoutbox as it works fine now. You could try calling SMFPacks Shoutbox in a custom block and see if it works.

Before I posted this, I tried both ways.. SP after I make a Shout box tells me it can not find any shout box..
Title: Re: Shout Box will not post
Post by: ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦ on June 22, 2018, 08:56:20 AM
What's your host?
Title: Re: Shout Box will not post
Post by: Oldcrow on June 22, 2018, 08:58:59 AM
What's your host?

iFastnet out of the UK use to be called bythost.

Is there a code to use when I make a block for the arcade, I just tried again and get the same message can't find..

Also I have now removed the SMF Hacks shout box, its gone.
Title: Re: Shout Box will not post
Post by: Chen Zhen on June 22, 2018, 11:34:54 PM
Ensure to clear the history & cache of the browser itself & then test it again.
Also possibly attempt to clear the shoutbox shouts in the shoutbox admin of SMF/SP.
Title: Re: Shout Box will not post
Post by: Chen Zhen on June 22, 2018, 11:51:23 PM
Quote
Before I posted this, I tried both ways.. SP after I make a Shout box tells me it can not find any shout box..

On the shoutbox admin page, does it show this specific shoutbox as enabled?
If you have the shoutbox block in place but then have it disabled in the shoutbox admin then it will show that message.
This is why I am asking.
Title: Re: Shout Box will not post
Post by: Oldcrow on June 23, 2018, 08:20:11 AM
Quote
Before I posted this, I tried both ways.. SP after I make a Shout box tells me it can not find any shout box..

On the shoutbox admin page, does it show this specific shoutbox as enabled?
If you have the shoutbox block in place but then have it disabled in the shoutbox admin then it will show that message.
This is why I am asking.

Chen, how come your always right.. Working now.

Thank for the help you guys.

Ronald
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2022, SimplePortal