collapse collapse

* Archive Notice

This is an Archive Forum.

The content in this forum may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information, and links in forum pages to other sites may not work. This forum contains archives for future reference.

Visit our thread at Simple Machines Forum for current support.

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 177
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: Yup, Still adore SP
    April 21, 2019, 07:08:06 PM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: STILL love SP :)
    November 24, 2018, 05:05:50 AM
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: <3 aegersz
    September 13, 2018, 03:36:09 PM
  • aegersz: I STILL <3 LOVE SimplePortal
    September 13, 2018, 07:11:39 AM
  • aegersz: o LOVE you guys - Simple Portal rocks !
    May 09, 2018, 05:18:59 AM
  • Chen Zhen: our apologies for the site being down.. please read server issues topic
    March 22, 2018, 05:32:38 AM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: LOL PLEASE forget I just posted that. I found the answer in my own dang post back in 2015. lol sorry!
    July 04, 2017, 10:47:55 PM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: I know this SB isnt' for support, but I just have a general question. Who would I contact to find out where SP stores its block info? Is it DB driven or files? I searched the site but came up with nothing. probably my fault any insight is appreciated.
    July 04, 2017, 10:43:36 PM
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: Excuse me but what does Simpleportal have to deal with that?
    February 05, 2017, 08:21:14 PM
  • WhiteEagle: of course IMHO that site appears to be dead :(
    February 04, 2017, 01:08:05 PM
  • WhiteEagle: If I can get that, then I'll use it for that site...
    February 04, 2017, 01:07:35 PM
  • WhiteEagle: decided to not use SMF for any projects, unless I can get a copy of the premium version of the fanfiction archive plugin
    February 04, 2017, 01:06:54 PM
  • expertdecisions: cloudflare
    January 28, 2017, 08:01:47 AM
  • aegersz: SM release 2.0.13 !
    January 12, 2017, 06:00:13 AM
  • raffo: Tks Emanuele, even if I didn't understand the fix :D
    November 07, 2016, 02:01:20 AM
  • emanuele: [link]
    November 01, 2016, 12:43:50 PM
  • emanuele: raffo: the English support board is a good place. ;)
    November 01, 2016, 12:43:38 PM
  • raffo: Where can I find the fix for the shoutbox?
    November 01, 2016, 05:06:09 AM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: To the SP team, I make a point to come here and thank you as much as possible for your work.  so again, THANK YOU!
    October 28, 2016, 10:38:05 AM
  • emanuele: That's indeed funny, the limit is present only in the patch and not the full install.
    October 22, 2016, 06:14:58 PM

* Recent Posts

Adding Forums Button to Nav bar by jirapon
[August 01, 2019, 09:07:12 AM]


Re: Board Icons by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 30, 2019, 04:03:41 PM]


MOVED: Czech translation???? by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 30, 2019, 03:04:51 PM]


Board Icons by jirapon
[July 30, 2019, 07:28:44 AM]


Re: Thankyou Simpleportal, by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 29, 2019, 09:41:29 AM]

Welcome to SimplePortal.net! You can download SimplePortal from the Downloads Area!

Author Topic: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only  (Read 7824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Burke Knight

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • Gender: Male
  • I tell it how I see it. Don't like it? Hit Alt+F4
    • BurkeKnight Enterprises
  • SMF Version: None
  • SP Version: None
  • Elkarte Version: None
Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« on: May 19, 2015, 07:37:35 AM »
I'd like to have a Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only.
Since most phones and drop down menus do not like each other that well, I figure a SP menu block would work out well. However, I only want it to show on mobile devices, as it will not be needed for regular computers.

Offline ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦

  • Spammer Hammer
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1193
  • Gender: Male
  • Sniper Legends
    • Virtual Interactive Games Entertainment™
  • SMF Version: 2.0.13
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: 1.0.6
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2015, 12:22:55 PM »
I don't think a block would be the way, really. I think it should be the theme to be made responsive, showing an alternative menu according to resolution, it has been done before.
Basically, something like this: http://simpleportal.net/index.php?topic=13934.msg69009#msg69009
Have you tried SimplePortal Documentation before asking? ;)
F.A.Q.  English Support  |  Blocks Support
Fancy Feature idea ?!  |  Blocks Requests
Themes & Graphics

▼ My job! ▼

No PMs for support unless it's a paid request. Thank you! :)
#OpIsis

Offline Burke Knight

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • Gender: Male
  • I tell it how I see it. Don't like it? Hit Alt+F4
    • BurkeKnight Enterprises
  • SMF Version: None
  • SP Version: None
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2015, 06:57:47 AM »
I'm not worried about passing some stupid "mobile friendly" junk of Google.
I just want a menu block, to show ONLY for mobile devices, since the drop down menu seems to open the top level while opening the drop down, making it so can't tap the drop down choices.

Offline ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦

  • Spammer Hammer
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1193
  • Gender: Male
  • Sniper Legends
    • Virtual Interactive Games Entertainment™
  • SMF Version: 2.0.13
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: 1.0.6
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2015, 07:33:44 AM »
I understood that, the answer doesn't really change I'm afraid. The topic I have linked above is strictly related to this question, even if the title says different it applies to this case quite a lot. What you need to do is something similar to what has been done in the reply I linked, showing only for resolution<X.

If you still want a block you could use the block id as a css selector and add it to your portal.css, making it look like this:
Code: [Select]
@media only screen and (max-width: 750px), only screen and (min-resolution: 300dpi) {

#sp_block_X {
css properties here;
}
}
Just replace X with your block ID, if you want to go down this path :)
Have you tried SimplePortal Documentation before asking? ;)
F.A.Q.  English Support  |  Blocks Support
Fancy Feature idea ?!  |  Blocks Requests
Themes & Graphics

▼ My job! ▼

No PMs for support unless it's a paid request. Thank you! :)
#OpIsis

Offline Burke Knight

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • Gender: Male
  • I tell it how I see it. Don't like it? Hit Alt+F4
    • BurkeKnight Enterprises
  • SMF Version: None
  • SP Version: None
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2015, 07:50:41 AM »
Yes, the answer WILL change.
I am not looking to change how blocks are displayed to mobile devices.
Far as I'm concerned, the site looks fine as is.
The issue I am having, is the MENU, as it won't work correctly, due to tapping not beign like a mouse, and able to hover to open the drop down, so they can select a choice.

So, I plan on using one of the menu blocks that SP has in the choices.
However, I don't want it to show for everyone, just those using mobile devices.
So, I need a modified menu block.

Offline ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦

  • Spammer Hammer
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1193
  • Gender: Male
  • Sniper Legends
    • Virtual Interactive Games Entertainment™
  • SMF Version: 2.0.13
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: 1.0.6
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2015, 09:57:14 AM »
[ndr]The conversation carried on privately

Well given that you can use that menu block you can just add that simple css code and be done with it :) Something like:
Code: [Select]
#sp_block_ID
{ display: none;}
@media only screen and (max-width: 750px), only screen and (min-resolution: 300dpi) {

#sp_block_X {
css properties here;
}
}
Have you tried SimplePortal Documentation before asking? ;)
F.A.Q.  English Support  |  Blocks Support
Fancy Feature idea ?!  |  Blocks Requests
Themes & Graphics

▼ My job! ▼

No PMs for support unless it's a paid request. Thank you! :)
#OpIsis

Offline Burke Knight

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • Gender: Male
  • I tell it how I see it. Don't like it? Hit Alt+F4
    • BurkeKnight Enterprises
  • SMF Version: None
  • SP Version: None
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2015, 11:05:00 AM »
Well, it ended up being a moot point, anyway.
The SP menu block still utilizes drop down, which is what the issue is.
Seems a change in the top level links, to just # then all the sub-menu items being regular links, works.

Offline ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦

  • Spammer Hammer
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1193
  • Gender: Male
  • Sniper Legends
    • Virtual Interactive Games Entertainment™
  • SMF Version: 2.0.13
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: 1.0.6
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2015, 01:07:50 PM »
I don't get whether you actually did it or not ;D
Have you tried SimplePortal Documentation before asking? ;)
F.A.Q.  English Support  |  Blocks Support
Fancy Feature idea ?!  |  Blocks Requests
Themes & Graphics

▼ My job! ▼

No PMs for support unless it's a paid request. Thank you! :)
#OpIsis

Offline Burke Knight

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • Gender: Male
  • I tell it how I see it. Don't like it? Hit Alt+F4
    • BurkeKnight Enterprises
  • SMF Version: None
  • SP Version: None
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2015, 03:18:17 PM »
Well, I set most of the menu to have the top level links not be links, by setting them to # for the URL.
This makes it so when tapped, it'll open the drop down, but not try to load a link.
If check out the main site on mobile, you'll see.

Since I use Menu Editor Lite, it's easy to work them. However, Admin, Moderate and Profile, are ones that I had to leave as is, since they are permission based, set by the internal link in MEL. If was to change them, they'd show for people not supposed to see them, even if their links in drop down, would not work for them.

Was the fastest fix I could think of, but it works.

Offline ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦

  • Spammer Hammer
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1193
  • Gender: Male
  • Sniper Legends
    • Virtual Interactive Games Entertainment™
  • SMF Version: 2.0.13
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: 1.0.6
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2015, 03:19:49 PM »
Given that they have their permissions in Subs.php I can't understand how they'd show for everyone though.
Have you tried SimplePortal Documentation before asking? ;)
F.A.Q.  English Support  |  Blocks Support
Fancy Feature idea ?!  |  Blocks Requests
Themes & Graphics

▼ My job! ▼

No PMs for support unless it's a paid request. Thank you! :)
#OpIsis

Offline Burke Knight

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • Gender: Male
  • I tell it how I see it. Don't like it? Hit Alt+F4
    • BurkeKnight Enterprises
  • SMF Version: None
  • SP Version: None
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2015, 07:09:18 AM »
Like stated, using Menu Editor Lite. :P

When setting up a Profile menu, it uses the settings, if use the Profile Internal link in MEL.
But, if I was to have that UNDER a different top lvl item, that item would show, not the real profile menu, but what I do as the top.

Offline ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦

  • Spammer Hammer
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1193
  • Gender: Male
  • Sniper Legends
    • Virtual Interactive Games Entertainment™
  • SMF Version: 2.0.13
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: 1.0.6
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2015, 08:35:17 AM »
To be honest, I'll just edit the Subs.php and uninstall that mod, you are expert enough to do it without having your forum crashed ;)
Have you tried SimplePortal Documentation before asking? ;)
F.A.Q.  English Support  |  Blocks Support
Fancy Feature idea ?!  |  Blocks Requests
Themes & Graphics

▼ My job! ▼

No PMs for support unless it's a paid request. Thank you! :)
#OpIsis

Offline Burke Knight

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
  • Gender: Male
  • I tell it how I see it. Don't like it? Hit Alt+F4
    • BurkeKnight Enterprises
  • SMF Version: None
  • SP Version: None
  • Elkarte Version: None
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2015, 01:13:48 PM »
Ahhh, but there's plus sides to that mod.
An admin interface that's so much easier to deal with, under normal circumstances. ;)

Offline ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦

  • Spammer Hammer
  • Support
  • *
  • Posts: 1193
  • Gender: Male
  • Sniper Legends
    • Virtual Interactive Games Entertainment™
  • SMF Version: 2.0.13
  • SP Version: 2.3.6
  • Elkarte Version: 1.0.6
Re: Menu Block to show for Mobile Devices Only
« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2015, 04:06:42 PM »
I guess it's a Pros/Cons balance because I have no idea how to override its settings unless you edit it, but I have never used it so... :/ And yeah, I think it surely is much easier than editing a monster-like array list indeed ;D
Have you tried SimplePortal Documentation before asking? ;)
F.A.Q.  English Support  |  Blocks Support
Fancy Feature idea ?!  |  Blocks Requests
Themes & Graphics

▼ My job! ▼

No PMs for support unless it's a paid request. Thank you! :)
#OpIsis