collapse collapse

* Simple Portal Archived Forum

This is an Archive Forum.

The content in this forum may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information, and links in forum pages to other sites may not work.
This forum contains archives for future reference.

Visit our thread at Simple Machines Forum for current support.

SMF 2.1 users: EhPortal is a ported version of Simple Portal specifically designed for the SMF 2.1 branch.
Please visit web-develop.ca to download EhPortal and for its support.

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 55
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: Yup, Still adore SP
    April 21, 2019, 07:08:06 PM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: STILL love SP :)
    November 24, 2018, 05:05:50 AM
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: <3 aegersz
    September 13, 2018, 03:36:09 PM
  • aegersz: I STILL <3 LOVE SimplePortal
    September 13, 2018, 07:11:39 AM
  • aegersz: o LOVE you guys - Simple Portal rocks !
    May 09, 2018, 05:18:59 AM
  • Chen Zhen: our apologies for the site being down.. please read server issues topic
    March 22, 2018, 05:32:38 AM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: LOL PLEASE forget I just posted that. I found the answer in my own dang post back in 2015. lol sorry!
    July 04, 2017, 10:47:55 PM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: I know this SB isnt' for support, but I just have a general question. Who would I contact to find out where SP stores its block info? Is it DB driven or files? I searched the site but came up with nothing. probably my fault any insight is appreciated.
    July 04, 2017, 10:43:36 PM
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: Excuse me but what does Simpleportal have to deal with that?
    February 05, 2017, 08:21:14 PM
  • WhiteEagle: of course IMHO that site appears to be dead :(
    February 04, 2017, 01:08:05 PM
  • WhiteEagle: If I can get that, then I'll use it for that site...
    February 04, 2017, 01:07:35 PM
  • WhiteEagle: decided to not use SMF for any projects, unless I can get a copy of the premium version of the fanfiction archive plugin
    February 04, 2017, 01:06:54 PM
  • expertdecisions: cloudflare
    January 28, 2017, 08:01:47 AM
  • aegersz: SM release 2.0.13 !
    January 12, 2017, 06:00:13 AM
  • raffo: Tks Emanuele, even if I didn't understand the fix :D
    November 07, 2016, 02:01:20 AM
  • emanuele: [link]
    November 01, 2016, 12:43:50 PM
  • emanuele: raffo: the English support board is a good place. ;)
    November 01, 2016, 12:43:38 PM
  • raffo: Where can I find the fix for the shoutbox?
    November 01, 2016, 05:06:09 AM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: To the SP team, I make a point to come here and thank you as much as possible for your work.  so again, THANK YOU!
    October 28, 2016, 10:38:05 AM
  • emanuele: That's indeed funny, the limit is present only in the patch and not the full install.
    October 22, 2016, 06:14:58 PM

* Recent Posts

Adding Forums Button to Nav bar by jirapon
[August 01, 2019, 09:07:12 AM]


Re: Board Icons by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 30, 2019, 04:03:41 PM]


MOVED: Czech translation???? by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 30, 2019, 03:04:51 PM]


Board Icons by jirapon
[July 30, 2019, 07:28:44 AM]


Re: Thankyou Simpleportal, by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 29, 2019, 09:41:29 AM]

Thanks for having an interest with our portal. If you have any requests for features, have a look at the Feature Requests board.

Author Topic: Is it Possible...  (Read 2898 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tlbsupport

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • SMF Version: 1.1.8
  • SP Version: 2.2.1
Is it Possible...
« on: July 02, 2009, 04:50:11 AM »
Greetings, am using 2.0RC1-1 and SP2.2.2

Is it possible with the different mods to have a custom page with standard headers and footers and in the middle a grid of say 3*3 as a links page to associated sites?
Am using the SP as a front page to my SMF.

Also, how can i use a block that will integrate to my AJAX shoutbox/chatroom on the portal, i think i could use a custom htlm however im totaly usless at that sort of thing...

who can come to my rescue..

Any btw, thanks for a great product, i tried other portal/cms options and SP is by far the most flexable and also easy to configure.

Cheers in advance

Offline Nathaniel

  • Comrade
  • *
  • Posts: 5203
  • Gender: Male
    • Verbtest.com
  • SMF Version: 2 RC4
  • SP Version: 2.3.3
Re: Is it Possible...
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2009, 05:36:39 AM »
Custom pages issue:
You should be able to add a custom page, and then add any standard blocks that you want, the links below will help you to do that.

For adding custom pages, see the post below:
http://simpleportal.net/index.php?topic=1944.msg13106#msg13106

For showing SimplePortal blocks on certain pages (ie. custom pages), see the topic below:
http://simpleportal.net/index.php?topic=2501.0

For the shoutbox:
What code do you use for your AJAX shoutbox/chatroom? If its html then you will need a Custom HTML block, if its PHP then you will need a custom PHP block. I would suggest that you try adding the code to the correct one, to see if it works first. Then if you need help adjusting it then you could try the Custom Coding board.
SMF Friend (Former Support Specialist) | SimplePortal DeveloperMy SMF Mods | SimplePortal"Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?" - Who will Guard the Guards?Please don't send me ANY support related PMs. I will just delete them.

Offline tlbsupport

  • Semi Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • SMF Version: 1.1.8
  • SP Version: 2.2.1
Re: Is it Possible...
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2009, 06:04:51 AM »
much appreciated, sorry if newbie questions but, im a newbie :D

keep up great work, will get ack to you if i get stuck (say 30 mins :D)

update:
told u id be back :D
I had a look at the chat install, in the shoutbox it has an index.php file and is as follows, any suggestions how to tweak or would u rather i head over to the custom code area

cheers

ps i created a custom php and copied, when i then went to home it bust, surprise surprise, i know, i should have known better but i dont know php :(


<?php
/*
 * @package AJAX_Chat
 * @author Sebastian Tschan
 * @copyright (c) Sebastian Tschan
 * @license GNU Affero General Public License
 * @link https://blueimp.net/ajax/
 */

if (!$_GET['shoutbox']){
   $host  = $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'];
   $uri   = rtrim(dirname(dirname($_SERVER['PHP_SELF'])), '/\\');
   $extra = 'chat/index.php';
   header("Location: http://$host$uri/$extra");
   }

// Show all errors:
error_reporting(E_ALL);

// Path to the chat directory:
define('AJAX_CHAT_PATH', dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME']).'/');

// Include custom libraries and initialization code:
require(AJAX_CHAT_PATH.'lib/custom.php');

// Include Class libraries:
require(AJAX_CHAT_PATH.'lib/classes.php');

// Initialize the chat:
$ajaxChat = new CustomAJAXChat();
?>
« Last Edit: July 02, 2009, 07:01:43 AM by tlbsupport »

Offline Nathaniel

  • Comrade
  • *
  • Posts: 5203
  • Gender: Male
    • Verbtest.com
  • SMF Version: 2 RC4
  • SP Version: 2.3.3
Re: Is it Possible...
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2009, 05:32:28 AM »
Sorry about the long wait.

Moved this topic to the Custom Coding board.

I haven't specifically worked with the Chat script you are trying to integration into SMF and SP. Could you please post the error that is being shown, a link to your site, or a screenshot of the issue?
SMF Friend (Former Support Specialist) | SimplePortal DeveloperMy SMF Mods | SimplePortal"Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?" - Who will Guard the Guards?Please don't send me ANY support related PMs. I will just delete them.

 

SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2022, SimplePortal