collapse

* Simple Portal Archived Forum

This is an Archive Forum.

The content in this forum may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information, and links in forum pages to other sites may not work.
This forum contains archives for future reference.

Visit our thread at Simple Machines Forum for current support.

SMF 2.1 users: EhPortal is a ported version of Simple Portal specifically designed for the SMF 2.1 branch.
Please visit web-develop.ca to download EhPortal and for its support.

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 249
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Shoutbox is not for support!
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: Yup, Still adore SP
    April 21, 2019, 07:08:06 PM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: STILL love SP :)
    November 24, 2018, 05:05:50 AM
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: <3 aegersz
    September 13, 2018, 03:36:09 PM
  • aegersz: I STILL <3 LOVE SimplePortal
    September 13, 2018, 07:11:39 AM
  • aegersz: o LOVE you guys - Simple Portal rocks !
    May 09, 2018, 05:18:59 AM
  • Chen Zhen: our apologies for the site being down.. please read server issues topic
    March 22, 2018, 05:32:38 AM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: LOL PLEASE forget I just posted that. I found the answer in my own dang post back in 2015. lol sorry!
    July 04, 2017, 10:47:55 PM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: I know this SB isnt' for support, but I just have a general question. Who would I contact to find out where SP stores its block info? Is it DB driven or files? I searched the site but came up with nothing. probably my fault any insight is appreciated.
    July 04, 2017, 10:43:36 PM
  • ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦: Excuse me but what does Simpleportal have to deal with that?
    February 05, 2017, 08:21:14 PM
  • WhiteEagle: of course IMHO that site appears to be dead :(
    February 04, 2017, 01:08:05 PM
  • WhiteEagle: If I can get that, then I'll use it for that site...
    February 04, 2017, 01:07:35 PM
  • WhiteEagle: decided to not use SMF for any projects, unless I can get a copy of the premium version of the fanfiction archive plugin
    February 04, 2017, 01:06:54 PM
  • expertdecisions: cloudflare
    January 28, 2017, 08:01:47 AM
  • aegersz: SM release 2.0.13 !
    January 12, 2017, 06:00:13 AM
  • raffo: Tks Emanuele, even if I didn't understand the fix :D
    November 07, 2016, 02:01:20 AM
  • emanuele: [link]
    November 01, 2016, 12:43:50 PM
  • emanuele: raffo: the English support board is a good place. ;)
    November 01, 2016, 12:43:38 PM
  • raffo: Where can I find the fix for the shoutbox?
    November 01, 2016, 05:06:09 AM
  • {OCS}MasterSeal: To the SP team, I make a point to come here and thank you as much as possible for your work.  so again, THANK YOU!
    October 28, 2016, 10:38:05 AM
  • emanuele: That's indeed funny, the limit is present only in the patch and not the full install.
    October 22, 2016, 06:14:58 PM

* Recent Posts

Adding Forums Button to Nav bar by jirapon
[August 01, 2019, 09:07:12 AM]


Re: Board Icons by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 30, 2019, 04:03:41 PM]


MOVED: Czech translation???? by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 30, 2019, 03:04:51 PM]


Board Icons by jirapon
[July 30, 2019, 07:28:44 AM]


Re: Thankyou Simpleportal, by ♦ Ninja ZX-10RR ♦
[July 29, 2019, 09:41:29 AM]

Thanks for having an interest with our portal. If you have any requests for features, have a look at the Feature Requests board.

Author Topic: Blocks in Block Question - Easy PHP stuff but beyond me  (Read 3631 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ehsizzup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Blocks in Block Question - Easy PHP stuff but beyond me
« on: May 24, 2010, 09:19:19 PM »
Using block in block coding as described in http://simpleportal.net/index.php?topic=5332.0

I would like to add something to the code below so that I can set each column width as a percentage.

It would seem that I need to create an array for the widths and change the  "100 / $columns" in line 36 to the column width from the array. 

Easy for me to describe, but can't figure it out.

Help please and thank you.

Code: [Select]
$columns = 2;
$block_ids = array(225,224);

$block_data = array();
foreach ($block_ids as $block)
{
   $block_data[$block] = current(getBlockInfo(false, $block, false, false));
   $block_data[$block]['style'] = sportal_parse_style('explode', $block_data[$block]['style'], true);
}

echo '
<table style="width: 100%; overflow:hidden; cellpadding: 0; margin: 0 0 0 0;">
   <tr>';

$counter = 0;
foreach ($block_data as $data)
{
   if ($counter != 0 && $counter % $columns == 0)
   {
      echo '
   </tr>
   <tr>';
   }

   echo '
      <td style="width: ', ceil((100 / $columns)), '%; vertical-align: top;">
         ', template_block($data), '
      </td>';

   $counter++;
}

echo '
   </tr>
</table>';

Offline AngelinaBelle

  • Comrade
  • *
  • Posts: 4870
  • Gender: Female
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: Blocks in Block Question - Easy PHP stuff but beyond me
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 10:27:14 PM »
maybe something like:
Code: [Select]
$columns = 2;

$block_inputs=array(
                       array('id' => 225, 'width' =>50),
                       array('id' => 224, 'width' => 50),
                    );

$block_data = array();
foreach ($block_inputs as $block)
{
   $block_data[$block['id']] = current(getBlockInfo(false, $block['id'], false, false));
   $block_data[$block['id']]['style'] = sportal_parse_style('explode', $block_data[$block['id]]['style'], true);
   $block_data[$block['id']]['width'] = $block[$block['width']]
}

echo '
<table style="width: 100%; overflow:hidden; cellpadding: 0; margin: 0 0 0 0;">
   <tr>';

$counter = 0;
foreach ($block_data as $data)
{
   if ($counter != 0 && $counter % $columns == 0)
   {
      echo '
   </tr>
   <tr>';
   }

   echo '
      <td style="width: ', $data['width'], '%; vertical-align: top;">
         ', template_block($data), '
      </td>';

   $counter++;
}

echo '
   </tr>
</table>';
Code: [Select]


Code: [Select]
Please to keep this website running, if you like SimplePortal, make a
one-time subscription. Thank you for your support.

Have you tried the SimplePortal documentation?

Offline ehsizzup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: Blocks in Block Question - Easy PHP stuff but beyond me
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2010, 11:13:03 PM »
Error message....


Code: [Select]
Syntax error in block code. Please check the code.

Offline AngelinaBelle

  • Comrade
  • *
  • Posts: 4870
  • Gender: Female
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: Blocks in Block Question - Easy PHP stuff but beyond me
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2010, 08:06:01 AM »
Sorry about that.
Try using the preview button to find out which line your error is in.
Please to keep this website running, if you like SimplePortal, make a
one-time subscription. Thank you for your support.

Have you tried the SimplePortal documentation?

Offline ehsizzup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: Blocks in Block Question - Easy PHP stuff but beyond me
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2010, 10:34:53 AM »
Wow.  I learn something new every day.  I didnt know that Preview will show the error information.  That helps a lot.

Error on line 12 - missing ' after an ID.
Error on line 14 - missing ; at end of line.

Offline ehsizzup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: Blocks in Block Question - Easy PHP stuff but beyond me
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2010, 10:36:31 AM »
But there is still a problem somewhere because it is ignoring the column widths.

Your $data['width'] output is empty.

 

Offline AngelinaBelle

  • Comrade
  • *
  • Posts: 4870
  • Gender: Female
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: Blocks in Block Question - Easy PHP stuff but beyond me
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2010, 11:09:54 AM »
Oops.  Maybe you can fill that in?
Please to keep this website running, if you like SimplePortal, make a
one-time subscription. Thank you for your support.

Have you tried the SimplePortal documentation?

Offline ehsizzup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • SMF Version: 2 RC3
  • SP Version: 2.3.2
Re: Blocks in Block Question - Easy PHP stuff but beyond me
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2010, 02:23:31 PM »
Got it.  You had one too many offset layers on line 10...now reads

   $block_data[$block['id']]['width'] = $block['width'];

Thanks for making me work for it at the end.  I think I learned a few things.

Final Code....just make sure your widths total 100% or you will get some unpredictable results.


Code: [Select]
$block_inputs=array(
                       array('id' => 225, 'width' => 40),
                       array('id' => 224, 'width' => 60),
                    );
$block_data = array();
foreach ($block_inputs as $block)
{
   $block_data[$block['id']] = current(getBlockInfo(false, $block['id'], false, false));
   $block_data[$block['id']]['style'] = sportal_parse_style('explode', $block_data[$block['id']]['style'], true);
   $block_data[$block['id']]['width'] = $block['width'];
}

echo '
<table style="width: 100%; overflow:hidden; cellpadding: 0; margin: 0 0 0 0;">
   <tr>';

$counter = 0;
foreach ($block_data as $data)
{
   if ($counter != 0 && $counter % $columns == 0)
   {
      echo '
   </tr>
   <tr>';
   }

   echo '
      <td style="width: ', $data['width'], '%; vertical-align: top;">
         ', template_block($data), '
      </td>';

   $counter++;
}

echo '
   </tr>
</table>';